Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
From JP-1 to JP-3= out of tune question. >

From JP-1 to JP-3= out of tune question.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

From JP-1 to JP-3= out of tune question.

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2008, 10:25 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default From JP-1 to JP-3= out of tune question.

I switched last week and was finally tuned properly. But once I put the JP-3 on I was way out of tune. I am still learning to tune properly. My question is do I deal only with the high end needle to retune or both. What happened was I was getting like 7-8 mins a tank and after installiung the JP-3 I barely had 5 minutes run time.
Old 06-04-2008, 04:22 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)

Your run times will depend on the engine . Not all engines like all pipes that are available out there .
Old 06-04-2008, 04:42 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)

Generally speaking you need to get the high end tuned close before really messing with the low speed. Remember that the fuel has to go through the high speed needle to get to the low speed so adjusting the high speed will also change the low speed.

Of course, if the thing won't even idle then some adjustment may need to be made to the low speed before you can even start on the high end.
Old 06-04-2008, 05:13 PM
Tech Elite

Like I said it was tuned great before the change. Really what I want is my runtime back, power is good idle is awsome. So try a couple hours lean on the high? I would rather not touch the low end if I dont have to cause it was a B to get right. This only my 3rd nitro mill, I recently added racing nitro along with my electric.
Old 06-04-2008, 06:09 PM
Tech Champion