Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Inferno MP9 thread >

Inferno MP9 thread

Like Tree1Likes

Inferno MP9 thread

    Hide Wikipost
Old 10-10-2016, 02:30 PM   -   Wikipost
R/C Tech ForumsThread Wiki: Inferno MP9 thread
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been a member for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: tobamiester
Another TKI thread, more TKI4 Specific http://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-of...buggy-kit.html

TKI4 Replacement Parts (Good for upgrading from TKI3) http://www.kyoshoamerica.com/Replace...ts_c_1505.html

TKI4 Optional Parts http://www.kyoshoamerica.com/Option-Parts_c_1506.html

Some notes on the new Towers/Long shocks here

Picked up a TKI3 and want to upgrade to TKI4 ? Here are all the updated parts:

Shocks

IF347-155 1.5X5 Pistons
IF471-01 Front Shock Body
IF470-01 Rear Shock Body
IF470-03BK Shock Adjust Dial
IFW154 Boots
IF346-05C Shock End Set

Wing

IF491BK Wing
IFW460B Wing Mount/Stay

Rear End

IFH006W Wheel
IF490 HUB
IF490-01 Hub Insert
IF492 Shock Pin
IF423HB Rear Arm
IF287 Hard Upper Rod Rear

Front End

IF489 Steering Rod Set
IF488 Knuckles
IF487H Front Arm
IFW458 Hard Lower Pin
IFW425 93MM CVD
IF286 Hard Upper Rod
IF486 Lower Susp Holder
IFW459 Servo Saver (Hard)
IF446B Ackerman Arm
IF426-64.5 Susp Shaft

Other

IF469B Filter
97035LW-13 Clutch Bell
IF453B Body Mount
IFW107GM Hexes
W300910 Washer
IF443B Center Diff Plate
IF444C Tank
IF479B Radio Box
96772 13x16x0.15mm Shim
IF481B Fuel Tank Stay
IFW336GM Wheelnut
IFB008 TKI4 Body
IFD403W TKI4 Decal

Print Wikipost

Old 12-04-2009, 11:37 PM
  #2806  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (101)
 
BSchorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Luverne, MN
Posts: 5,060
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Anyone ever use those white teflon AE clutch shoe spacers at all? I noticed that the shims that came with the SE kit are way to thin, the shoes tend to rub or even hang on the end of the flywheel. Would have to put a real big chamfered edge on the bottom of the to make it work.

This is what im talking about... Ill try em on my next rebuild.

BSchorr is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 05:54 AM
  #2807  
Tech Master
 
MikaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,706
Default

Hi, just wondering if anyone is using (or has experince) Futaba 2.4gHz receiver with High Voltage servos and a lipo RX pack without a regulator?

So, in other words - Can the Futaba RX handle 7.4 volts for a prolonged time ? I've been table testing and it all looks good, but what about in real driving conditions?

Any experiences there? Appreciated, thanks.
MikaR is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 07:53 AM
  #2808  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Gizmatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: normandy,france
Posts: 1,006
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MikaR
Hi, just wondering if anyone is using (or has experince) Futaba 2.4gHz receiver with High Voltage servos and a lipo RX pack without a regulator?

So, in other words - Can the Futaba RX handle 7.4 volts for a prolonged time ? I've been table testing and it all looks good, but what about in real driving conditions?

Any experiences there? Appreciated, thanks.
not tried it myself..I know people who use 11.1v lipo packs in the 3pk transmitters which are rated for 9.6v but I wouldn,t do it myself..If you blow it any warranty is void and replacement units aren't exactly cheap ..I use life packs..same advantages as the lipo don't go flat when not in use plus you can charge at 15c or up to 30A if you have a charger that can handle it..not fragile either like lipo's and TX/RX packs are 6.4V and 9.9v..I can provide ebay links for various packs to fit various radios at good prices if you want...
Gizmatron is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 09:46 AM
  #2809  
Tech Regular
 
didrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 462
Default

any lipo for nomadio react?
didrace is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 10:16 AM
  #2810  
Tech Master
 
MikaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,706
Default

Originally Posted by Gizmatron
not tried it myself..I know people who use 11.1v lipo packs in the 3pk transmitters which are rated for 9.6v but I wouldn,t do it myself..If you blow it any warranty is void and replacement units aren't exactly cheap ..I use life packs..same advantages as the lipo don't go flat when not in use plus you can charge at 15c or up to 30A if you have a charger that can handle it..not fragile either like lipo's and TX/RX packs are 6.4V and 9.9v..I can provide ebay links for various packs to fit various radios at good prices if you want...
Actually, I've been using a 11.1 lipo for my 3pk transmitter for this year.. now I'm concerned of the RX if it can handle 7.4 volts... my servos are lipo ready .. http://www.hitecrcd.com/servos/show?name=HS-7940TH

Thanks
MikaR is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 10:48 AM
  #2811  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Gizmatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: normandy,france
Posts: 1,006
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MikaR
Actually, I've been using a 11.1 lipo for my 3pk transmitter for this year.. now I'm concerned of the RX if it can handle 7.4 volts... my servos are lipo ready .. http://www.hitecrcd.com/servos/show?name=HS-7940TH

Thanks
yeh I know about the lipo ready hitecs...I just don't want to risk my spektrum and futaba stuff with excess voltage..

and re nomadio react..no idea what configuration is it..hang on i'll grab the ebay listings for LiFe packs

http://desc.shop.ebay.fr/ukrc/m.html...sacat=0&_rdc=1

they list packs for futaba 3pk and 4pk and ko propo if the nomadio takes any of these..
Gizmatron is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 11:03 AM
  #2812  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (120)
 
Jammin57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,374
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MikaR
Hi, just wondering if anyone is using (or has experince) Futaba 2.4gHz receiver with High Voltage servos and a lipo RX pack without a regulator?

So, in other words - Can the Futaba RX handle 7.4 volts for a prolonged time ? I've been table testing and it all looks good, but what about in real driving conditions?

Any experiences there? Appreciated, thanks.
He is asking about a rx NOT a radio
I don't know anybody that runs unregulated lipo of the fasst rx's I think they are only rated for 6volts I would not suggest it but that's up to you
Jammin57 is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 01:26 PM
  #2813  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Gizmatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: normandy,france
Posts: 1,006
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jammin57
He is asking about a rx NOT a radio
I don't know anybody that runs unregulated lipo of the fasst rx's I think they are only rated for 6volts I would not suggest it but that's up to you
the original poster was yes and I posted the exact same reply as you but I think if you scroll up a couple of lines you'll see a request for lipo availability for a nomadio react which last time I looked was a RADIO!!!
Gizmatron is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 11:41 PM
  #2814  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 991
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

DO NOT DO IT, The fasst receiver only takes 6v maximum, it stats so on the owners manual, an I blew a new receiver and two servos by ignoring that., lucky me all got replaced for free, but I dd get note frm futaba that the receiver failled due to over voltage, I was running the losi lipo with a 6.5v regulator. Since then made the switch to the DX3 no more issues (the 3pk is still a superior radio a far as functions, mixing, etc)
Originally Posted by MikaR
Hi, just wondering if anyone is using (or has experince) Futaba 2.4gHz receiver with High Voltage servos and a lipo RX pack without a regulator?

So, in other words - Can the Futaba RX handle 7.4 volts for a prolonged time ? I've been table testing and it all looks good, but what about in real driving conditions?

Any experiences there? Appreciated, thanks.
RAlmeida is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 11:48 PM
  #2815  
Tech Master
 
MikaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,706
Default

Thanks folks for your responses!

I talked to couple of local guys, they've been using lipo ready servos and haven't got any issues with the futaba receiver.. the other works in hobby shop and apparently wasn't aware of any of the cases where the futaba RX would have died when using 7.4 volts..

But I'll think about the DX3R because I would need another RX anyway...
MikaR is offline  
Old 12-08-2009, 12:20 AM
  #2816  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 373
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

So I was wondering if anyone has put the new werks b5 in the mp9? Anyone tried it or had experience with this combo?

-Thanks!
freestylinmotox is offline  
Old 12-08-2009, 04:53 AM
  #2817  
Tech Regular
 
mp9er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: jimbos couch
Posts: 351
Post rx lipo futaba

hi mikaR yes you can run 7.4v lipos with your 4pk rx and servos with no regulator as long as you have decent servos. I am currently running 7.4v orion 2s 1p with no regulator and futaba brushless servos direct link up with no switch RACE TESTED no broblems what so ever.
mp9er is offline  
Old 12-08-2009, 05:07 AM
  #2818  
Tech Master
 
MikaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,706
Default

Thanks!!

But you know what - I already purchased a DX3R radio with 2 receivers to be on the safe side. I would have needed another futaba RX anyhow, so the price difference between a single RX and a new radio is tolerable.. and it will be interesting to try this new radio anyhow... Plus that I've had heat issues with the futaba 2.4gHz receiver, though I got rid of them by placing the receiver in the outmost corner of the radio box. DX3R haven't got any heat issues, at least that I'm aware of.
MikaR is offline  
Old 12-08-2009, 05:18 AM
  #2819  
Tech Regular
 
mp9er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: jimbos couch
Posts: 351
Thumbs up

i beleive that would be the first batch of receivers but good luck with new radio set up m8te
mp9er is offline  
Old 12-08-2009, 05:32 AM
  #2820  
Tech Master
 
MikaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,706
Default

Oh, that's possible. That got me thinking.. I changed the receiver to the newer one I have, too, and it hasn't got heat issues since.. oh well. Hope the new radio is good, Thanks! At least it should be lighter.
MikaR is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.