Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Start racing this year!

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2008, 06:20 AM
Tech Apprentice

Default Start racing this year!

I am planning on racing this year and looking to 1/8th truggies. What's peoples opinions on a good truggie to race.
Old 05-11-2008, 06:28 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

depends on how much coin you want to spend.and what equipment you have or need to buy also.a good, competitive race setup will run you around 1500-2000 dollars if you bought everything brand new.

Last edited by buckeye34; 05-11-2008 at 06:31 AM. Reason: added words
Old 05-11-2008, 06:53 AM
Tech Apprentice

I'll admit I'm new at the racing scene with R/C but have been driving them for a while. But if you can give me a list of what I need. I'm not really worrying about the money but I'm looking to only spend 700-800 on the truggy.
Old 05-11-2008, 07:02 AM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)

I'm running the Jammin truggy. Its strong and dependable and its as competitive as it gets.

http://www.jamminproducts.com/x1crt.htm
Old 05-11-2008, 07:44 AM
Tech Addict

I drive a Losi 8ight-t RTR. And if you are looking at an RTR to save some coin, and you will be racing, you will end up replacing parts they skimped on to get the price down.

Shock tower, cast aluminum, hinge pin retainers, cast aluminum, shock caps, plastic, those types of things are high quality on a roller and made of aircraft aluminum. The only reason I went with a RTR was I found a used one I just could not pass up. But I will be close, not quite, I might save 400 in the end, but will be close to the cost of a roller when I have to upgrade all the broke cast aluminum stuff .

That said, there was a thread on here where CEN Matrix came out the winner to a similiar question.
Old 05-11-2008, 08:01 AM
Tech Apprentice

What's the Jammin run for price? And is it a RTR?
Old 05-11-2008, 08:09 AM
Tech Apprentice