Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Should I get better tires to race with?  (Newbie here) >

Should I get better tires to race with? (Newbie here)

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Should I get better tires to race with? (Newbie here)

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2008, 02:03 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default Should I get better tires to race with? (Newbie here)

Tire question: Exactly “how much” will upgrading tires help me for racing purposes? I’m running an 8ight Pro version, P5X engine and stock Losi tires which I’ve been told are terrible. I’ve got years of RC experience but am a novice when it comes to actual racing. During practice last week I was one of the slowest on the track and definitely need some stick time. Fast laps were around 28 seconds/lap. I’m guessing I was turning maybe 5-10 seconds slower/lap than the fastest guys.

So, given how green/slow I am, would it be worth spending the $65 on good Panther tires or whatever the good ones are? Or keep the stock Losi’s and work on my driving first?

Thanks!
Old 04-28-2008, 02:12 PM

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

yes...it would be a real good idea to get a new set of tires that are good for your track. if u don't know which tires are good, look around, see what everyone else runs.
`
Old 04-28-2008, 03:14 PM
Tech Addict

Thumbs up

The tires are the only thing between your buggy/truggy and the ground. The right set of new tires will help you perform better than any other hop up you can think of. .

Also the largest portion of your racing budget should be spent on tires. You will spend more money on tires in one year of racing, than you will on anything else... including your car.
Old 04-28-2008, 03:15 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 20 (95%+)

The right tires will be like nite and day!

+1 look at what the fast guys are running and get them. If you don't know the track, crimefighters will usually get you at least in the ball park.
Old 04-28-2008, 03:27 PM
Tech Elite