Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
digital throttle servos?? >

digital throttle servos??

digital throttle servos??

Old 04-26-2008, 09:16 PM
  #1  
Administrator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Matt M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,519
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default digital throttle servos??

hey guys, i know some of you fo it, but i am wondering why the pros dont use a digi servo on the throttle servos????

thanks for the input..

matt
Matt M. is offline  
Old 04-26-2008, 09:27 PM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Its seems to be more linear I guess.? They zero better with out the stutter. Some times a digital will act as if its glitching in an idle position. Cleaner function. As along as a digital is under some load it wont stutter. I run all digital and really never had an issue. Maybe one of the pros will weigh in?
UN4RACING is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 03:35 AM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Maikaitan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by UN4RACING View Post
Its seems to be more linear I guess.? They zero better with out the stutter. Some times a digital will act as if its glitching in an idle position. Cleaner function. As along as a digital is under some load it wont stutter. I run all digital and really never had an issue. Maybe one of the pros will weigh in?
digitals sucks more juice than analog ones... some mains are long (60mins), and make 2 digital servos hard on the rx pack... and digital on the throttle doesn't seems to have a great effect compared to digital on the steering...

the analog is harder to turn by itself if the power is off... thus making warm ups for the race easier... let just say that the battery went flat during the race, the analog will stay in position, where the digital, and coreless, will slide open with very little agitation...

2 cents...
Maikaitan is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 07:00 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Most of the pro's I've seen are using 2 digital servo's. A lot weren't because people think it's a way of burning your nice new $100 digi servo out. I have been running all digital servo's because I like the speed of them, combined with my radio on HRS.

And with a 1400 pack, I can make it through a club race day which is 3 qualies plus warmup, and the a main without charging. Our club race A Mains are 30 minutes depending on turnout. Sometimes I need to use the B main as well.
Scottmisfits is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 07:41 AM
  #5  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Maikaitan View Post
digitals sucks more juice than analog ones... some mains are long (60mins), and make 2 digital servos hard on the rx pack... and digital on the throttle doesn't seems to have a great effect compared to digital on the steering...

the analog is harder to turn by itself if the power is off... thus making warm ups for the race easier... let just say that the battery went flat during the race, the analog will stay in position, where the digital, and coreless, will slide open with very little agitation...

2 cents...
Thanks for the insight. I have heard that the analogs are nice to the battery.
Good point about the holding power is greater at less voltage than with digital. I have a digital JR z9100t and a z9000s they are thirsty mugs. So far I have been running 20 minute mains but I think I will keep this topic in mind for longer mains.
UN4RACING is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 07:44 AM
  #6  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (22)
 
UN4RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: MODIFIED!
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Scottmisfits View Post
Most of the pro's I've seen are using 2 digital servo's. A lot weren't because people think it's a way of burning your nice new $100 digi servo out. I have been running all digital servo's because I like the speed of them, combined with my radio on HRS.

And with a 1400 pack, I can make it through a club race day which is 3 qualies plus warmup, and the a main without charging. Our club race A Mains are 30 minutes depending on turnout. Sometimes I need to use the B main as well.
I always go into the main with a fresh peak. I may try to get into some lipo receiver packs. That would take care of the discharge worries but I would still have to repeak it as precaution.
UN4RACING is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 08:12 AM
  #7  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (96)
 
houston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sherwood,OR
Posts: 15,837
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Talking

analog servos handle the full voltage of the new lipos without a regulator without wiggin' out . thats why
houston is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 08:23 AM
  #8  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Maikaitan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by houston View Post
analog servos handle the full voltage of the new lipos without a regulator without wiggin' out . thats why
i ran my 2 digital servos on li-po without regulators for about a year without any problems... recently, i got li-fp batteries which runs direct... solved all the li-po issues...
Maikaitan is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 12:16 PM
  #9  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (96)
 
houston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sherwood,OR
Posts: 15,837
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Maikaitan View Post
i ran my 2 digital servos on li-po without regulators for about a year without any problems... recently, i got li-fp batteries which runs direct... solved all the li-po issues...
awesome, lucky i guess
houston is offline  
Old 04-27-2008, 01:50 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Some systems can handle the voltage, some can't. I won't try it because I know it won't work with my stuff but my buddy has been doing it for awhile now with no problems. Different stuff.
Scottmisfits is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.