Community
Wiki Posts
Search

MAJOR Engine troubles (i think...)

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2008, 05:48 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default MAJOR Engine troubles (i think...)

Hi, Guys, Ive never used a RC car Forum so i hope this is the right spot to ask this kind of question.

I was driving today and noticed my car was making a funny noise, and that it was also losing power more and more every minute i drove it. It turns out one of the problems was i was accidently running "lean". I "richened" it and after that it ran A LOT better. But i was still hearing a funny noise...

I took it into the shop and started to take the flywheel apart to see what was wrong with it. I couldnt notice any damage, but im new to this, and all i know is my flywheel is broke! it just spins freely and doesnt catch on to spin the "engines insides" Thats my 1st problem

My 2nd problem is the bearings need to be replaced in my engine and im not sure how to do that or what size. I read the instruction book and couldnt figure it out, they also didnt tell me what size bearings I need, I have some 8x16s on hand.

My 3rd problem, and what I think (but i dont know anything about RC engines) is my most serious problem, is the piston kind of gets stuck when it hits the very top of the sleeve. Is this because my engine is completely taken apart? is it because the bearing is wrecked?

Im also having a hard time taking the piston, conrod and crankshaft apart/out of the engine. I'd like to take a look and see how things work, clean it out a little bit, maybe oil it.

Thanks A LOT in advance to everyone who answers (and everyone who tries to answer)

PS; My engine is a LRP Z.28R Spec.3 Pullstart

Carl
Old 04-06-2008, 07:09 PM
Tech Addict

Originally Posted by new to rc cars
Hi, Guys, Ive never used a RC car Forum so i hope this is the right spot to ask this kind of question.