New XRAY 808

Old 06-03-2008, 07:31 PM
  #1126  
Suspended
iTrader: (34)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 34 (97%+)
Default

What if I lined the radio box and lid with some of that thermal tape? At least it would help keep some engine heat out. Never had an issue in my Hyper 8, but I used a Mugen radio box and the box is a little further from the engine, the regulator was a little further from the Rx in that box too.
FG101C is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 09:24 PM
  #1127  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
xlgraphicspro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 2,173
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

it's the lipo regulator and the lipo creating all the heat, in combination with the fast system. it will continue to happen. drop to a smaller lipo for more room. or switch back to a regular reciever pack. 2 guys at our track switched back, and haven't had a problem.

the regulator pumps off alot of heat. you can also mount the regulator outside of the reciever box.
xlgraphicspro is offline  
Old 06-03-2008, 10:52 PM
  #1128  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
WheelNut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I ran my 808 at a regional race last weekend and I've got to say this car is awesome!!!! The handling is so balanced, the jumping is smooth and full of "pop", and it is really really strong! Plus something like 8 out of the 12 cars in the A main were all 808s!
WheelNut is offline  
Old 06-04-2008, 08:29 AM
  #1129  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Coral gables, Florida
Posts: 1,266
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

The 808 box is hot and some of the FASST receivers are overly sensative to heat. Mine has givin me lots of issues.

Is not limited to the 808. By that way I am not running lipo.
infanterene is offline  
Old 06-04-2008, 04:53 PM
  #1130  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (20)
 
slaytanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,171
Trader Rating: 20 (95%+)
Default

I'm getting ready to start my build soon. Does anyone have any specific tips that they found or issues to look out for?
slaytanic is offline  
Old 06-04-2008, 05:19 PM
  #1131  
Tech Addict
 
Powerlink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so Cal.
Posts: 603
Default

Make sure to sand and CA glue your carbon fiber parts ahead of time so there dry and ready .
Powerlink is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 07:02 AM
  #1132  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Slaytanic - After having one for 4 race weekends, I would say go with 5-5-4 in the diffs rather than stock. Also, the wing mount has four mounting screws that go through the shock tower......with the lower two screws going through the tower then terminating into plastic. If you use a longer screw, it will go through the plastic far enough to put a nut on each screw. Do this. The wing mount will get loose after a couple of races.
toolmbx6 is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 05:19 PM
  #1133  
Tech Addict
 
Powerlink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so Cal.
Posts: 603
Default

"The wing mount will get loose after a couple of races"..This has not been the case for mine .Anybody else seen this ?
Powerlink is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 06:25 PM
  #1134  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
rregl0612's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: harrisburg, Pa
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by slaytanic
My GOD! You finally made up your mind! JFWY! Hope it does ya right. Heard they are tuff.

Anyone recommend a good cheap lipo setup for the 808? My helotes packs will work but I would think moving all that weight to the outer part of the chassis would not be a good thing. Or am I wrong?
Losi regulator and the venom 1600 flat pack have been working well for me!
rregl0612 is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 06:37 PM
  #1135  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 419
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Vigilante212
I think quite a few people were having issues with the faast system overheating. Not just in the 808 can someone confirm this im not 100% sure.
At one of the races, I left a FASST receiver out in direct sunlight while tinkering with my car. It was quite hot outside.

When i put it back in, I would get no TX\RX response.

I used a spare and put the 'hot' receiver by a cooling fan and it worked later. so there are heat issues definitely.
phixd is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 06:56 PM
  #1136  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
losi 8t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: King, NC
Posts: 1,754
Trader Rating: 13 (89%+)
Default

Ok, enough is enough.......I was at my LHS today....and all they were talking about was the 808...if someone could contain me about this buggy...i would really like to look forward into getting one....what am i looking at price wise for the kit? and wat would be a good setup to use on a loose dirt, short...lots of jumps track?? idea's would really help me guys. thnx.
losi 8t is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 07:26 PM
  #1137  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Vigilante212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Menasha WI
Posts: 747
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

$600 plus tires, rims, electronics, engine, and pipe with header. The Stock setup works quite well and I would start with that and go from there to suit your driving style. I havent changed it yet because it works for me.
Vigilante212 is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 07:28 PM
  #1138  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
losi 8t's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: King, NC
Posts: 1,754
Trader Rating: 13 (89%+)
Default

alrighty then, ill stick with the stock day view....hopefully i can jump on the purchase VERY SOON.
losi 8t is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 07:46 PM
  #1139  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (17)
 
pl_unc86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 554
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I just wanted to confirm that the Avid Indo brakes for the xb8 or xb8r will fit on the 808. I know i read somewhere they would, but i just wanted to confirm. Thanks


Here is the link
http://www.avidrc.com/shop/?action=i...&pr evstart=0
pl_unc86 is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 08:21 PM
  #1140  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (17)
 
pl_unc86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 554
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Anyone that can answer my question?
pl_unc86 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.