New XRAY 808

Old 12-28-2010, 03:52 PM
  #8881  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (74)
 
aussies1129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: LAND DOWN UNDER
Posts: 3,485
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mcion
Thats expected I would think since you since you makes for less resistance against uptravel. I know a few that do that to get better uptravel.

I was referring to the shock socks that aussie is using.
no effect they are just a lycra sock that goes over the spring and the excess at each ends just tuck back into your spring and just install your spring from there the spring fits firm on the tension cap and perfect on your lower cap and my shock get no where near the amount of crap as usual and they wash easy back to new looking, I still have my boots on but you could remove them if you wanted?
happy new year to everyone look forward to running xray in 2011!!!cheers
aussies1129 is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 08:41 PM
  #8882  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Dont mean to hijack. Let me ask. Anyone have issues mounting JR servos in the stock location with mounts. Mine I just noticed the servo mounts for the chassis do not support a JR servo.
BuggyKing is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 08:56 PM
  #8883  
Tech Adept
 
Cade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bishop, Texas
Posts: 223
Default The new XRAY buggy!!!!

I am really excited about this buggy for the 2011 season. I still don't know if I should save up and get a kit or just upgrade from my 2010 buggy? I actually like the body, it is different!

Cade Whitenton
Cade is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 09:55 PM
  #8884  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BuggyKing
Dont mean to hijack. Let me ask. Anyone have issues mounting JR servos in the stock location with mounts. Mine I just noticed the servo mounts for the chassis do not support a JR servo.
Mathew, refer to the instruction manual. There are 2 types of servo mounts. You have to use the correct ones for JR servos. I don't remember if it's 2 thin or 2 thick or 1 of each.
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 10:29 PM
  #8885  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,780
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jaz240
Mathew, refer to the instruction manual. There are 2 types of servo mounts. You have to use the correct ones for JR servos. I don't remember if it's 2 thin or 2 thick or 1 of each.
+1 to what Jaz said... Should not be a problem, check page 29 of the manual.
ganymede is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 10:57 PM
  #8886  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

ok thx guys, well I am building the car from the ground up so I am learning as I go
BuggyKing is offline  
Old 12-28-2010, 11:54 PM
  #8887  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
mazmorbid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 458
Trader Rating: 11 (92%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jaz240
Mathew, refer to the instruction manual. There are 2 types of servo mounts. You have to use the correct ones for JR servos. I don't remember if it's 2 thin or 2 thick or 1 of each.
From memory with JR it's 2 thin ones
mazmorbid is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 05:12 AM
  #8888  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (15)
 
vince7870's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: ny
Posts: 694
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I jr hv's. It was tight but worked fine. I believe it was 2 thin ones as well
vince7870 is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 05:19 AM
  #8889  
Tech Champion
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 5,620
Default

Wow, I didn't know anyone still ran JR servo's. When JR says "servo" they're usually speaking in past tense.

Don't forget to subtract a shim or grind it down to make up for the rubber squares thickness.

The Hitec shim is the same thickness as the rubber squares, so I use no plastic shims.
Zerodefect is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 12:31 PM
  #8890  
Tech Master
iTrader: (58)
 
rfleck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,425
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default need more on power steering

Guys, I have a 2010 model in which I have modded the drivetrain. I run on a tight technical,semi high traction track. I run the overdrive front gearing. Currently the car has great off power steering, rotates nicely with the camber links as short as possible on the rear, but on power seems a bit weak. Running 7-7-5 in the diffs. 28mm front and 30mm rear ride heights

Any suggestions?
rfleck is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 01:16 PM
  #8891  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rfleck
Guys, I have a 2010 model in which I have modded the drivetrain. I run on a tight technical,semi high traction track. I run the overdrive front gearing. Currently the car has great off power steering, rotates nicely with the camber links as short as possible on the rear, but on power seems a bit weak. Running 7-7-5 in the diffs. 28mm front and 30mm rear ride heights

Any suggestions?
I sent you a pm.

Have you tried adjusting kick up. Running less will increase overal steering.
BuggyKing is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 01:23 PM
  #8892  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

you can test a thinnner swaybar up front but might increase track rolling.
BuggyKing is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 01:46 PM
  #8893  
Tech Champion
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 5,620
Default

Originally Posted by rfleck
Guys, I have a 2010 model in which I have modded the drivetrain. I run on a tight technical,semi high traction track. I run the overdrive front gearing. Currently the car has great off power steering, rotates nicely with the camber links as short as possible on the rear, but on power seems a bit weak. Running 7-7-5 in the diffs. 28mm front and 30mm rear ride heights

Any suggestions?
Stiffer rear springs
Thicker rear diff fluid, then possibly thicker center fluid
Move the front arm wheelbase adjustment back, shorter (huge steering increase)

12 degree caster blocks
More rear camber -3 to -5

Go back to the stock diff.
Tires
Zerodefect is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 02:06 PM
  #8894  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (10)
 
Poltro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Melbourne VIC
Posts: 157
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bren Ralls
hudy spare pin for drive shaft tool

#DY106035 - EJECTOR PIVOT PIN
Thanks!!
Poltro is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 02:46 PM
  #8895  
Tech Master
iTrader: (32)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,414
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rfleck
Guys, I have a 2010 model in which I have modded the drivetrain. I run on a tight technical,semi high traction track. I run the overdrive front gearing. Currently the car has great off power steering, rotates nicely with the camber links as short as possible on the rear, but on power seems a bit weak. Running 7-7-5 in the diffs. 28mm front and 30mm rear ride heights

Any suggestions?
Are you shocks mounted in middle position? You can try a softer front spring. Normally though I would not go softer than Silver though. What piston and front oil are you using, you can lower front piston oil weight and go with a 5k in the front rather than a 7k.
mcion is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.