New XRAY 808

Old 09-13-2010, 03:42 AM
Tech Initiate

Originally Posted by grizz1
It's not a bearing problem. I have been running the smaller 08 / 09 bearings for over two years now without a failure of any kind (not the same set of bearings obviously).
Use the grease tip, and be carefull how tight you nip up the 3 x retaining screws. It is possible to do them up so tight that the bearings get pressured and start catching. That would cause bearing failure really quickly, like one or two races.
The X-Ray chassis does flex quite a bit, but it's designed to do that. Stiffen it up too much and you loose the handling. Just my .02c worth
How can you overtighten the screws? When completely tightened, even with new bulkheads they don't secure the bearing completely... And that's one more problem, as the outer part of the bearing starts spining in the gearbox.

From now, until the end of the year, yes, I'm going to change brand this time, I'll run the ring side bearing completely without cover and try to find a shim to secure them better, and of course completely packed with grease with the cap mod...

I don't know if it's the tracks I run at, but this problem keeps getting on my way... One of them has a big triple, but it's quite bumpy before the jump, so some times, when you think you're going to clear it, you just lose speed and case it. You should see how one of my bearings got after one of those hits...
Old 09-13-2010, 08:11 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)