New XRAY 808

Old 12-07-2008, 12:08 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)

Originally Posted by wild gopher
Ok, I must go back on what I said regarding the aluminum axles. I have been using them for a few months now and last night, 5 minutes before my main in a practice session, broke on. It snapped in half. I quickly returned to the pits and put the steel ones back on and made my main. To me, the weight savings isnt worth the chance of breakage.

My sentiments precisely!

There are obviously some areas where you can save on weight, shave a little bit of metal here or there, use plastic over aluminium, etc. But there comes a point where the weight savings becomes moot if you can't get the car to the finish line. The 808 is likely (one of if not THE) lightest buggy currently available, so I feel that this battle with the scale some folks insist on waging is unnecessary at best.

Older, heavier cars are still kicking ass or holding their own against the current crop, and some are close to a whole POUND heavier, and it doesn't seem to impede their winning ability one bit. It's the guy at the controls that makes all the difference
Old 12-07-2008, 07:58 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 14 (89%+)

Getting a like new 808 on Tuesday and was wondering what parts I should order to keep in my box? I have an Xray TC and bought way to many spare parts as there were only a few things that I ever broke with it. I am sure the 808 is going to be the same way. Thanks for any help you can offer.
Old 12-07-2008, 08:37 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Clutch Questions

I've also got an 808 on the way, just wondering, is my standard Werks 4 Shoe Clutch going to fit? Or do I need to get the special smaller XRAY one (not sure if this only applies to the XB8)?
I would obviously like to use what I already have.

Also, can you also use standard clutch bells on the 808? Or do you need to use the HUDY 808 Bells with bigger bearings?