blowing plugs

Old 12-28-2007, 06:45 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 130
Default blowing plugs

hello im just in the process of running in a go25,but it has just blown 2 osa5 plugs in two tanks of fuel.it was running rich on the bottom end and was wondering if this could be the cause.cheers
spudly12 is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 10:45 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (14)
 
ezveedub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,415
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Running rich will not blow a plug in one tank. What are you using to ignite the glowplug? If your using a power panel on a starter box and its set too high, it will pop glowplugs.
ezveedub is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 10:50 AM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,659
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Check your head shimming. I had the same issue with a V-spec. Turned out I had less than .010" head clearance.
Jon Kerr is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 11:14 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
SkarTisu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,671
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

It could be a few other things as well. The plug might be too hot, causing detonation. Check the top of the piston and bottom of the head button and look for a pitted appearance.

Are you driving the car right now, or running it in on a starter box? If you're driving the car, are you driving it until it's out of fuel? If so, that might be popping the plug. The O.S. R5 plug is the same heat range as the A5, but it has a more durable element.
SkarTisu is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 01:11 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (84)
 
DPowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Where the fast guys are
Posts: 3,696
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jon Kerr View Post
Check your head shimming. I had the same issue with a V-spec. Turned out I had less than .010" head clearance.
good advice.
DPowers is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 03:21 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
SKOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 339
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I'm not failiar with the .25, but if it's like the Go Tech .21's you need to add an additional head shim to ease break in. The .21's come with an extra shim in the box.
SKOT is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 04:41 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (22)
 
Jason Halvorson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Grand Forks ND
Posts: 3,955
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SKOT View Post
I'm not failiar with the .25, but if it's like the Go Tech .21's you need to add an additional head shim to ease break in. The .21's come with an extra shim in the box.
yes the Go .25 needs the extra shim for break in...
Jason Halvorson is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.