R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   Glow plug always being burnt out (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/197149-glow-plug-always-being-burnt-out.html)

kyosho84 12-24-2007 10:06 PM

Glow plug always being burnt out

Hi, im new to the r/c action and i have just bought myself a kyosho inferno us sports. So far I have bought 3 new glow plugs and they keep dying after the first go, can anyone help me out?

Jason Halvorson 12-24-2007 10:07 PM

Originally Posted by kyosho84 (Post 4004838)
Hi, im new to the r/c action and i have just bought myself a kyosho inferno us sports. So far I have bought 3 new glow plugs and they keep dying after the first go, can anyone help me out?

seems like your running to lean on either the top or bottom, or you may need a colder plug...

kyosho84 12-24-2007 10:14 PM

I have turned the dial to run it rich because it kept dying out but actually burnt the glow plug... u know what else that could be causing the problem

sickboy 12-24-2007 10:16 PM

airleak.........

make sure the carb pinchbolt and head are tight. pull off the back plate and seal it up with some high temp sealant.

Jason Halvorson 12-24-2007 10:17 PM

Originally Posted by kyosho84 (Post 4004849)
I have turned the dial to run it rich because it kept dying out but actually burnt the glow plug... u know what else that could be causing the problem

are you sure the plug is burnt out and not fouled out??? with the needles set really rich there should be no reason why the plug would be burnt out...

kyosho84 12-24-2007 10:20 PM

sorry what is fouled out??

Jason Halvorson 12-24-2007 10:28 PM

Originally Posted by kyosho84 (Post 4004863)
sorry what is fouled out??

sometimes when the engine is running to rich it will cover the plug coils in oil and the plug cannot heat up and ignite the fuel...