Wiki Posts
Search

Motor break in article

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2007, 10:30 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Motor break in article

I will admit i am a complete and total noob when it comes to nitro. Before i get into it i just wanted to do some reading about motor break in and maintenance. any one have suggestions for articles, or any processes that you have used through out the years.
Old 11-29-2007, 10:42 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 89 (97%+)

Here's the procedures I use:
http://racefactorindustries.com/id1.html

Has worked well on the 3 motors I have broken in so far.
Old 11-29-2007, 03:51 PM
Tech Apprentice

http://www.rbmods.net/enginetempering.php
Old 11-29-2007, 04:05 PM
Tech Addict

very interesting, thanks for the info guys. two very diffrent approaches. One thing that does make sense to me is the first article says use a fuel with a high oil content, that makes sense. But it also said with low nitro content, If the whole point of the initial break in is the get the temp up, wouldn't you want high nitro levels?

also, this may seem like a dumb question, but is there any sort of break in oil that is used? Its obvious that im used to electric, but it would seem to make sense to use some sort of diffrent oil used in break in rather than just content in the fuel.

what kind of temp gauges do you guys recommend for reasonable prices?(50-80)
Old 11-29-2007, 04:26 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)