Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
guess wat i did today >

guess wat i did today

guess wat i did today

Reply

Old 11-22-2007, 01:13 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
pinky2252s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 3,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default guess wat i did today

allright so im at my uncles house, and he lives in cayon city. so i brought my S-maxx thinking it would run because he owns 12 acres so i really wanted to run it. it wouldnt start! then i checked the glow plug it was fine but the ignighter was dead or something so my BRILLIANT uncle decided to hook and alligator clip and a battery eliminator! 3 volts IT LIT UP LIKE THE SUN! bright white. it started! i ran it for a long time. so you should all ways bring a volt meter to the races! just incase!

Last edited by pinky2252s; 11-22-2007 at 03:24 PM.
pinky2252s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 02:01 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

volt meter? why would that help?
joe of loath is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 02:31 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
FrankW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: PDX
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Your post makes no sense. Your glo-ignighter was dead and when you hooked a voltmeter up to it, it suddenly worked? What?

-Frank
FrankW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 03:22 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
pinky2252s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 3,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

hows that?
pinky2252s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 04:47 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (26)
 
shady3031's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 594
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

it sounds as though his uncle used another vehicle, which was electric. It had an esc with a BEC (battery elemination circuit). This allows you to run your servos and other electronics off of the input battery and steps down the voltage to 5 or 6 volts and 3 amps. He then alligator clipped the glow ignitor wire to the bec output on the esc.

You can actually take a radio with a 3rd channel and wire it up through an esc to use an an onboard glow ignitor. Thhis means when you flip the switch to activate the 3rd switch it will automatically start the truck. One of the magazines did this to a jato some time last year--looked pretty cool for bashing purposes.
shady3031 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 07:16 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
pinky2252s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 3,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

nope, he used a thing that you could controll the amps and just have raw power and it worked
pinky2252s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 09:58 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
FrankW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: PDX
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pinky2252s View Post
nope, he used a thing that you could controll the amps and just have raw power and it worked
Raw power from what?
FrankW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 10:05 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
pinky2252s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 3,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

an outlet, you pluged it in and basicly you just had raw power from it



lol F.U.N! funny sponge
pinky2252s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2007, 11:34 PM
  #9  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
FrankW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: PDX
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

That doesn't sound very smart. Unless you or your uncle is an electrician, I wouldn't recommend messing around with your house's electrical system.

-Frank
FrankW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 04:23 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

sounds like he used an adjustable lab power supply!
joe of loath is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 10:24 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
pinky2252s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 3,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

it wasnt like it was going to explode, its what you used when you needed to charge your car battery. thats why it had an ajustable amp power. i only went up to 3 amps

Last edited by pinky2252s; 11-24-2007 at 01:48 PM.
pinky2252s is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 09:43 PM
  #12  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: mt vernon il
Posts: 414
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

why not take this thread to dumbest thread topics ever???
rhymster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 10:45 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
rltanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lake Havasu City,AZ
Posts: 2,681
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rhymster View Post
why not take this thread to dumbest thread topics ever???
OUCH!!!!!!!!!!!
rltanner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 10:47 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: mt vernon il
Posts: 414
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

do you not agree?
rhymster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 10:49 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
rltanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lake Havasu City,AZ
Posts: 2,681
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rhymster View Post
do you not agree?
Yes its a weird thing to start a thread for, but ,but ,but ok your right it is retarded
rltanner is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service