Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Team Associated 1/8 scale Truggy Info and Tips >

Team Associated 1/8 scale Truggy Info and Tips

Team Associated 1/8 scale Truggy Info and Tips

Old 09-21-2010, 08:29 AM
  #1801  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (21)
 
drewmugx5t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 414
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

I got a CE an have it built except for the radio tray. I have only run Mugen until now and was impressed with the truck for the most part. Just need to get a pipe and get my servos in cant wait. I didn't like the extra parts such as the shock holders on the arms and the sway bar mounts. There were a few things I thought were a little overkill. Also you just about have to take off the whole rear of the truck to work on the diff the way the D-block is keyed into the chassis as well as the gearbox. I also had to trim about 3mm off of the screws that go into the top of the C-hubs, they were bottoming out on the bearings making them notchy. Lastly one of the pins for the CVD's was too long and locked the bearing on the axle. took me forever to get it back off so I could trim the pin down, took some material off and its perfect now.

Like I said overall I'm very happy with the quality and build of the kit, just had to make some necessary mods to make things fit the way they should. I'm really excited to get it on the track as I haven't run Truggy in about 2 years.

Last edited by drewmugx5t; 09-21-2010 at 08:43 AM.
drewmugx5t is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 10:12 AM
  #1802  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (94)
 
rider313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 4,436
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by drewmugx5t
I also had to trim about 3mm off of the screws that go into the top of the C-hubs, they were bottoming out on the bearings making them notchy. .
on the C hubs there is two length screws. the longer ones go on the bottom of the hub and the about 3mm shorter ones go on the top. maybe you only got 4 long ones and not the 2 shorter ones for the top?? Other wise long ones in the top will bing like you stated.
rider313 is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 05:55 PM
  #1803  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
chris c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: So Cal Westminster
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default 10 hole pistons

has anyone tried the 10 hole 1.3 mm shock pistons in the truggy????
chris c is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 06:07 PM
  #1804  
Tech Master
iTrader: (60)
 
chris c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: So Cal Westminster
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 60 (100%+)
Default

also what would u guys gear one at for a track with a 200ft straight...

Revelation Raceway in Socal



Thanks
chris c is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 06:41 PM
  #1805  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
Brandon Melton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 2,506
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by chris c
also what would u guys gear one at for a track with a 200ft straight...

Revelation Raceway in Socal



Thanks
I just raced on a track this weekend with a LONG straight and was geared 50/14. Still had plenty of grunt to clear the technical sections in the infield.

54/15 is almost the identical gearing if you are wanting to use the stock spur, just get a 15 bell. I choose 50/14 becuase it moves the engine closer to center and the 50 spur is obviousy lighter than the 54 stock gear.

Drew- I have extra screws if you messed up the longer ones trying to grind them, lol. Also, turn the silver bushings "upside down" so that the flat side is against the knuckle and the triangular indexed side is against the screw, keeps it from getting sloppy because if the index gets messed up the screws can work themsleves out after a few rebuilds.
Brandon Melton is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 12:52 AM
  #1806  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (21)
 
drewmugx5t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 414
Trader Rating: 21 (96%+)
Default

Thanks Y'all I will have to check on those hub screws, I hope I didn't make a dumb mistake.

Brandon I have tons of screws, I will take your advise and swap that stuff around in the knuckles. One question though. do you mod anything on the truck to make rear diff maintenance easier. The way the d block is keyed in makes it more time consuming, the buggy isn't like that. I was thinking I could notch out the rear of the chassis, but don't want to unless others have tried.
drewmugx5t is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 10:53 AM
  #1807  
Tech Master
iTrader: (35)
 
chevydc44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,069
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys I just put diff oil in the rear and when I went to put it back on I noticed when I bolted the rear end on it won't spin but when i loosen them back it's ok so am I doing something
chevydc44 is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 04:17 PM
  #1808  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (32)
 
sriley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 426
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Did you put the diff in the right way?
sriley is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 04:28 PM
  #1809  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (17)
 
cordarrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 542
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

What screws do you loosen when it 'frees up'?
cordarrow is offline  
Old 09-24-2010, 08:28 PM
  #1810  
Tech Addict
 
Do-Over's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: O-H....I-O
Posts: 513
Default

I put fuel in my RTR RC8T yesterday and pulled out a set of fish scales I had laying around to weigh it. Just as I suspected, unless the scales were off, which could be a possibility, my truck came in at almost 10.25 lbs. I don't really know for sure but this seems a little high to me. I plan on buying a kit in a couple months for next season but until then, what parts are the best for losing weight on this thing? They RTR has a 3mm chassis, same thickness as the CE but I know probably different. It has 3mm shock towers. The CE's blue ones are 5mm I believe but they could be lighter I don't know. It's still pretty much stock except for set up and diff/shock fluids.

If I just start putting CE parts on it will I lose weight?

Thanks for your time,
Rich
Do-Over is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 12:06 AM
  #1811  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (35)
 
mmaattppllaayy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 836
Trader Rating: 35 (97%+)
Default

question about the forward battery box. Do you have to use a hump style battery with it doesnt look like a flat pack fits in it. And no Im not going to mount the battery in the back box that defeats the purpose.
mmaattppllaayy is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 12:33 AM
  #1812  
Tech Master
iTrader: (35)
 
chevydc44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,069
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sriley
Did you put the diff in the right way?
Im an idiot Sorry it was me put the diff in wrong way also I heard that there not gonna make the rc8t ce anymore there gonna discontinue it i don't know how true that is
chevydc44 is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 04:24 AM
  #1813  
Tech Regular
 
Lilja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 402
Default

Originally Posted by chevydc44
Im an idiot Sorry it was me put the diff in wrong way also I heard that there not gonna make the rc8t ce anymore there gonna discontinue it i don't know how true that is
I think theyll rename it and sell it as RC8T and discontinue the old one. Considering the CE version is a truggy version of the RC8B and the normal RC8T is a truggy version of the old RC8.
Lilja is offline  
Old 09-26-2010, 09:33 AM
  #1814  
Tech Master
iTrader: (35)
 
chevydc44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,069
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Lilja
I think theyll rename it and sell it as RC8T and discontinue the old one. Considering the CE version is a truggy version of the RC8B and the normal RC8T is a truggy version of the old RC8.
Oh ok cuz that would suck if they did cuz i really like my associated I use to run losi but the RC8B/RC8T CE i can drive them harder and they don't get sloppy like the losi do
chevydc44 is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 10:03 PM
  #1815  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Bugman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Port Reading n.j.
Posts: 229
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mmaattppllaayy
question about the forward battery box. Do you have to use a hump style battery with it doesnt look like a flat pack fits in it. And no Im not going to mount the battery in the back box that defeats the purpose.
Yes,i believe you have to use a hump style pack unless you are gonna use a lipo reciever pack. flightmax 2100 lipo just fits.I am not sure what other brands would fit hope this helps.
Bugman is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.