Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Agama a215t with Xray front arms? >

Agama a215t with Xray front arms?

Like Tree2Likes

Agama a215t with Xray front arms?

Old 01-04-2020, 10:28 PM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Agama a215t with Xray front arms?

What front universal shafts are you guys using when going to the xray front arms and sv outers on the a215t?
Mykwillis is offline  
Old 01-05-2020, 07:06 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (127)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,069
Trader Rating: 127 (100%+)
Default

Anything 131mm. Wish I could find a couple mm shorter but not happening. HB, AE, Sworkz and Kyosho all have 131mm unis. The kyosho runs smaller pins so the drive pin is a little smaller in the outdrive and the hex hub pin hole needs to be opened up to fit the kit agama pin. I’ve been using the HB CVD shaft and the agama cvd axle for a bit now over the uni as it’s rebuildable.

Hit me up if you have any other questions.
ROSCOE is offline  
Old 01-05-2020, 10:46 AM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ROSCOE View Post
Anything 131mm. Wish I could find a couple mm shorter but not happening. HB, AE, Sworkz and Kyosho all have 131mm unis. The kyosho runs smaller pins so the drive pin is a little smaller in the outdrive and the hex hub pin hole needs to be opened up to fit the kit agama pin. Iíve been using the HB CVD shaft and the agama cvd axle for a bit now over the uni as itís rebuildable.

Hit me up if you have any other questions.


i noticed on another truck that it used the normal agama sv outter hinge pin with the xray arm but the xray arm has a big hole for a pill to adjust the caster. You just using the pill and drilling the hole all the way through?
Mykwillis is offline  
Old 01-05-2020, 11:00 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (127)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,069
Trader Rating: 127 (100%+)
Default

Yes, just drill through both bushings and make sure the pin spins freely in them.
ROSCOE is offline  
Old 01-05-2020, 07:43 PM
  #5  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ROSCOE View Post
Yes, just drill through both bushings and make sure the pin spins freely in them.


thank you. Think Iíve reached a dead end. Having trouble finding the ball and the pill.(352170 and 352180) Iíve got everything else.
Mykwillis is offline  
Old 01-05-2020, 08:39 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (127)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,069
Trader Rating: 127 (100%+)
Default

I haven’t ran the steel set mainly because they are tough to find and probably not needed. Absolute has a plastic set. XRA352179

ROSCOE is offline  
Old 01-05-2020, 08:45 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
Mickey_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 745
Trader Rating: 6 (88%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mykwillis View Post
thank you. Think Iíve reached a dead end. Having trouble finding the ball and the pill.(352170 and 352180) Iíve got everything else.

They show in stock at RC America.
Mickey_B is online now  
Old 01-06-2020, 09:22 AM
  #8  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys!! I didn’t know there was a plastic set. It wasn’t listed that way in the parts diagram. I found it at amain and absolute had the steel ones in stock. I’m gonna knock this out once everything arrives and report back. Hopefully it will help someone else since this mod isn’t really talked about. Thanks again for all your help!
Mykwillis is offline  
Old 01-07-2020, 06:03 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (56)
 
rcmania74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: st louis
Posts: 2,747
Trader Rating: 56 (98%+)
Default

Whats up with this xray arm deal
rcmania74 is offline  
Old 01-07-2020, 09:50 PM
  #10  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcmania74 View Post
Whats up with this xray arm deal

you can run the xray xt8 front arms on the agama a215t. By doing so, you can use the A215sv/a319 castor blocks and steering hubs. The a215t uses the same steering gear as the original a215.
Mykwillis is offline  
Old 01-07-2020, 09:53 PM
  #11  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mickey_B View Post
They show in stock at RC America.

they're only 25 miles from me. 🙄 but thank you for saying so. I forgot all about them being in Irving. I can order from them and just run down there and pick up everything for my second truck.
Mykwillis is offline  
Old 01-08-2020, 03:46 PM
  #12  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 26
Default

Originally Posted by Mykwillis View Post
they're only 25 miles from me. 🙄 but thank you for saying so. I forgot all about them being in Irving. I can order from them and just run down there and pick up everything for my second truck.
hey man Iím from dfw and run agama was wondering the benefits of running castor blocks and hubs off the sv better steering?
Wreckless RC is online now  
Old 01-08-2020, 09:09 PM
  #13  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wreckless RC View Post
hey man Iím from dfw and run agama was wondering the benefits of running castor blocks and hubs off the sv better steering?

In theory yes. Iíll have the rest of the stuff to do the conversion tomorrow. Iím heading to January jam tomorrow evening. If I have enough time Iíll swap the parts to my etruggy and get some testing over the weekend. If not Iíll just test at Indy next week. Whatís your name? Do we know each other?
Mykwillis is offline  
Old 01-09-2020, 10:49 AM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (127)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,069
Trader Rating: 127 (100%+)
Default



My latest truck build.... 😬
Mykwillis likes this.
ROSCOE is offline  
Old 01-09-2020, 11:23 AM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (59)
 
blktransam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IOWA
Posts: 4,267
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

What towers are them?
blktransam is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.