Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Proline Truggy tires >

Proline Truggy tires

Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By savage24x
  • 1 Post By token
  • 1 Post By Brian C
  • 2 Post By houston
  • 1 Post By MaricopaAgent

Proline Truggy tires

Reply

Old 05-15-2018, 07:28 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Proline Truggy tires

anyone else have trouble with the bead not sitting flush to the rim?. Itís weird when I mount the tire there is a gap from the front edge of the rim and the backside of the bead. Front and back do the same thing.. I take two aka wheel bands front and rear and it kinda makes it better but very sketchy. Anyone else have this issue. My aka cityblocks are perfect lay flat right on the rim.
mattythegreat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 06:22 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
savage24x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NJ
Posts: 435
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I use Proline Blockades with the Proline VTR wheels. No issues over here.
mattythegreat likes this.
savage24x is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 09:19 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,993
Default

Never had an issue when running proline truggy tires.
mattythegreat likes this.
token is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 10:44 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Gonna post pics when I can.
mattythegreat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2018, 05:40 PM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (31)
 
Brian C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Twain Harte, Ca
Posts: 859
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

I believe that I know what you’re speaking of. I use two 1:10 scale tire bands to hold the tire tight enough to the wheel to be able to glue it. My normal truggy bands aren’t tight enough.
mattythegreat likes this.
Brian C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 10:49 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Townsville
Posts: 1,023
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Fairly normal for proline truck tires, just do as mentioned and use tire bands to hold them down while you glue.

doesnt affect anything besides the gluing btw.
Gavel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 12:11 PM
  #7  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (96)
 
houston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sherwood,OR
Posts: 15,837
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by mattythegreat View Post
anyone else have trouble with the bead not sitting flush to the rim?. It’s weird when I mount the tire there is a gap from the front edge of the rim and the backside of the bead. Front and back do the same thing.. I take two aka wheel bands front and rear and it kinda makes it better but very sketchy. Anyone else have this issue. My aka cityblocks are perfect lay flat right on the rim.
pro line foams are a bit oversized ..... aka are shaped to the tire profile more , it makes the pro line tires hard to glue i will sometimes use 3 or 4 bands on them ....

TIP: leave the back bead unseated while glueing the front .... this will ensure a better bond on the front side that takes the beating and only leave you with one hard to glue side ....
mattythegreat and token like this.

Last edited by houston; 05-18-2018 at 10:22 AM.
houston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 07:51 AM
  #8  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (28)
 
MaricopaAgent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Maricopa, Az
Posts: 696
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by houston View Post
pro line foams are a bit oversized ..... aka are shaped to the tire profile more , it makes the pro line tires hard to glue i will sometimes use 3 or 4 bands on them ....
I use electrical tape..
8T likes this.
MaricopaAgent is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 10:21 AM
  #9  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (96)
 
houston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sherwood,OR
Posts: 15,837
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MaricopaAgent View Post
I use electrical tape..
most hillbilly rednecks do .....

sorry .... had to johnny... hope you are well my man
houston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 06:23 AM
  #10  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (28)
 
MaricopaAgent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Maricopa, Az
Posts: 696
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by houston View Post
most hillbilly rednecks do .....

sorry .... had to johnny... hope you are well my man
Well, we know how to figure things out..
MaricopaAgent is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 09:09 AM
  #11  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys great info....
mattythegreat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2018, 06:52 PM
  #12  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: MN
Posts: 437
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

never had a problem here. I used to use tape but don't use anything for the tires. However I do sand the rim and tires with a dremel I also use Loctite super glue to save a few bucks and haven't had a problem yet.
TrespasseR_MN is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2018, 08:23 AM
  #13  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Anyone ever stay up late and glue a proline tire to an aka wheel Oops. Did t even notice for like a day. I have three proline and one aka. You think that will matter much?
mattythegreat is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service