Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
HPI Trophy Truggy 4.6 >

HPI Trophy Truggy 4.6

HPI Trophy Truggy 4.6

Old 12-17-2017, 07:55 PM
Tech Rookie

Angry HPI Trophy Truggy 4.6

Hello There

I am new to the Nitro scene and have recently purchased a HPI Trophy Truggy 4.6 from Hobbies Direct in Victoria.

I was super excited for both me and my kids to get this beast running and ready for Christmas.

The box arrived the week before last - which was incredibly quick - and I set to work reading the manuals and watching the HPI break-in videos.

After getting up to speed with the break-in process, I took the big unit outside and put it on a box (wheels off the ground) to run the first tank of fuel through it.
After getting it started - I left it to cycle a tanks worth of fuel through only to have it stall at around 1/2 a tank.
I tried to start it again only to have the pull start cable come straight out, leaving me with no way to start it up again.

I called a mate of mine who owns a Savage who let me borrow his Roto-Start.
So I remove the pull start mechanism (Which promptly explodes in spectacular way) and replace it with the roto-start setup.

I try to start the car - but it will not budge. I pull the glow plug out and test it with the igniter and its clearly cooked. So off to the local hobby shop I go to collect a few more plugs.

I replace the plug, refill the tank and get the Truggy started up and running on the box again - this time it makes it through the whole tank of fuel.
Im happy as it means I can move on to the next phase of the break-in process.

I pack everything into the car and drive down to our local basketball courts (big, flat and open... ticks all the boxes right) and get the Truggy ready for the long slow loops at 25% throttle.