rock crawling

Reply

Old 12-30-2005, 09:27 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
CocoaNitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: cocoa Florida
Posts: 9
Post rock crawling

has any body tried or has used brushless motors in their rockcrawlers? I am new to electrick monster trucking and wish to be informed before i jump into it.
CocoaNitro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 12:44 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
dracy69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

use the motor off the electric start of an expedition.....that should move your truck nicely.
dracy69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 03:26 AM
  #3  
Mvp
Tech Initiate
 
Mvp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 22
Default

I've yet to see it, but from what I've heard they dont carry as much torque as your average brushed motor(mostly high RPMs). Personally I'd just stick to standard motors...
Mvp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2006, 08:28 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
dracy69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,262
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

the summit racing protorque starter motor has 220 ft lbs of torque....thats more then a honda civic....dont you want your r/c to have more torque then a civic?
dracy69 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2006, 11:48 AM
  #5  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (3)
 
Mad Hatter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 54
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

head over to rccrawler.com, some ov the guys there have run brushless set ups in their crawlers.
Mad Hatter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 07:53 PM
  #6  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
lastresort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: central Fl.
Posts: 596
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Brushless

I've put one in a txt with a gear reduction and it did fine.I'm finishing up a tube chassis and I'm gonna try an outrunner axi motor with a mamba esc.This is what some of the guys are doing on rccrawler.With the outrunner you don't need the reduction.With the novak stuff a reduction is a must.Hopefully I'll have my outrunner by friday.I just got my tubechassis put together I will be trying out several setups I have a novak 5800 that I will start out with with the reduction and I'm gonna try the mamba speedo and the outrunner as soon as the motor shows up.
lastresort is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 05:19 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
lastresort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: central Fl.
Posts: 596
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default Brushless

I have a novak 5800 in the tube project I just got together.Its on a 3.5 to1 reduction and hooked to a emaxx trans.It works flawlessly.The setup does draw over 65 amps under full load.I've been running a 2 cell lipo and it kills it pretty fast,but its only a 1250 mah.The truck never has trouble bogging down at all.It performs better than my clod with brand new lathes on 6 cells.I'm gonna parallel another 1250 pack to extend runtime and keep up with the amp draw.
lastresort is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service