R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Monster Trucks (https://www.rctech.net/forum/monster-trucks-46/)
-   -   1/8 motor ideas? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/monster-trucks/675905-1-8-motor-ideas.html)

hoosier_rc_nut 11-05-2012 11:45 AM

1/8 motor ideas?

Just got a Losi aftershock roller converted to electric as a "project truck". I got a mamba 1/8 esc with it, but no motor. I've never dealt with 1/8 electrics before, or castle esc's so, I have a couple of questions. My first question is what range works best with trucks this size when it comes to kv ratings? In other words, should I be looking in the 1000 to 2000 kv range, maybe 1500 to 2500 kv range? I'm looking for a motor that will give me both torque and speed. My second question is how do I program the esc to my radio and receiver once I do get a motor? I've looked the esc over thoroughly and I can't find a "program" or "set" button anywhere on it. I will be using a traxxas 2.4 ghz on it. Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.

turbo4age 11-05-2012 12:15 PM

the common 2200 would probably work, but going with a lower kv and higher voltage is always ideal... especially in large vehicles.

to program, you just hold the throttle wide open as you power up the esc, itll sound off and then settle to a steady beep, once you hear the steady beep you go full brake, once you hear the steady beep again you go neutral. youll hear it sound off and when its done and settles to no beeps, youre ready.

this thing should be a BEAST with the e conversion.

hoosier_rc_nut 11-05-2012 12:24 PM

Hey thanks for the info. It will come in handy since I'm used to dealing with traxxas, and hobbywing esc's. I went to castle's website and saw this castle link page where you download a program and you buy a usb cord to program your esc with your computer? Is that just for fine tuning the esc?

turbo4age 11-05-2012 12:35 PM