Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Monster Trucks
should i put these into production?( savage flux/xl ) >

should i put these into production?( savage flux/xl )

should i put these into production?( savage flux/xl )

Old 12-25-2010, 07:40 PM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 86
Default should i put these into production?( savage flux/xl )

as i was breaking the outer axles at an alarming rate, i decided to prototype a set of braces to keep the axles from splitting apart. i have never heard of this happening on the older types but some people have had the xl and flux ones split apart.

the braces only fit the trucks using shd axles like flux and xl

this is what i'm talking about. the third one is a new unused for comparison



and here is a picture of one with the prototype installed. (the prototype has overly thick walls 3mm but production one will have 2mm)


here is a 3d pic of the prototype.


and a 3d pic of the production one. the difference is that, the wall thickness on the round part is 1mm thinner


please give me your thoughts on the matter, if i should start making them.

the prototypes have held my axles intact since i put them on so i have no worries about selling them as an upgrade parts.

edit: all the ones that broke, were at the front wheels. i think it only happens during extreme force while the axle is at an angle to the outer axle. the other cups do not see as much angle as the outer front ones. so each kit could be just two braces, but you could put them on all the cups, 8 in total.

Last edited by mrsnuggles; 12-25-2010 at 08:00 PM.
mrsnuggles is offline  
Old 12-25-2010, 10:25 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
 
rcjoe99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Huntington Beach
Posts: 525
Default

i dont know how much they cost to make each but i would kinda start small try to sell them on ebay or something then if they are a good seller then go big with them
rcjoe99 is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 03:03 AM
  #3  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (10)
 
LiqrSicc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 331
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

I haven't had problems with my axles yet but that looks like a good simple fix. How would you keep the brace from sliding around though?
LiqrSicc is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 05:08 AM
  #4  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 86
Default

there are many ways to keep them from sliding.

electric tape behind them.
epoxy (flexible type)
silicone sealant.
and my personal favorite soudal carbond 940fc (this stuff fixes everything and is what i use)

the stuff only has to prevent them from sliding and the material must be flexible.
i noticed that ca glue only cracks and with time it will wear off.
mrsnuggles is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 09:15 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (42)
 
helivaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,220
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

oops sorry.
helivaguy is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 09:17 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (42)
 
helivaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,220
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

thats a very good idea..you can shrinkwrap them on.
also try a pressed-on steel tube version.
helivaguy is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 10:30 AM
  #7  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (28)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 9,665
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

if you can make a sleeve the entire length that might make more sense. also, make sure you don't need to have some extra room free for the drive pin to clear what your adding on.
hanulec is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 10:30 AM
  #8  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (28)
 
hanulec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: @ the post office
Posts: 9,665
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

btw - what cad program did you use to make your drawings in??
hanulec is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 12:11 PM
  #9  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 30
Default

I have been making these for years. Make from aluminium tube, use on outdrives and stub axles, have not had one break since i have been using them
rcspeedfreak is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 04:11 PM
  #10  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 86
Default

Originally Posted by hanulec View Post
if you can make a sleeve the entire length that might make more sense. also, make sure you don't need to have some extra room free for the drive pin to clear what your adding on.
making it so it goes the entire length only adds extra weight and makes them expensive to make, the pins are not long enough to touch the braces.

the fit is extremely accurate so there is no play at all.

they are stainless steel, so no worries about them not being up to the task.
mrsnuggles is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.