Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Monster Trucks
e revo with lipo batteries >

e revo with lipo batteries

e revo with lipo batteries

Reply

Old 07-25-2010, 12:17 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North jersey
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default e revo with lipo batteries

I just bought a e revo and got two 2s lipo batteries and I was wondering if I need a low voltage detection or can I just time the runs
salabarria is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 12:28 PM
  #2  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NV
Posts: 144
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

you should get a cutoff. all it takes is one time draining the batteries too low to ruin them.
scarletboa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 12:33 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (11)
 
Xmod_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stevens Point, WI
Posts: 406
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Your runtimes will vary depending on how hard you drive and what you do etc., so timing the runs can never be accurate. Just get a low voltage cutoff and play it safe. It never hurts to be too cautious with lipos
Xmod_Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 12:38 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North jersey
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Can someone link me a good low voltage detector for the e revo
salabarria is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 12:47 PM
  #5  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

There is nothing wrong with timing your run - run a short one, 5 to 7 or 8 min and then stop. Recharge the lipos and see what went back in them. Calculate a mah/min and based on running to 80% of your lipo capacity, calc a run time based on that figure (not the total capacity). Now subtract a safety margin to keep your lipos safe. You have to pay attention to the time though, one time running longer than your capacity, you may damage the lipos.

Novak makes an add on fail safe called the Smart Stop. You'll need the 4S one. It wires into the pacs - neg to one lipo, pos to the other lipo. There is another one made by FMA, but its not used in surface and would be a prob to wire to dual lipos.

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXPGN1&P=7
Duster_360 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 03:16 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (51)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Minot ND
Posts: 1,996
Trader Rating: 51 (96%+)
Default

Just run them till you see it losing a bit of power then stop. It's what I do and I never go below 3.3v per cel doing this w/o a cut off.
CaseyDDR is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service