Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Monster Trucks
HYDROPLANING AN E-REVO >

HYDROPLANING AN E-REVO

HYDROPLANING AN E-REVO

Old 12-25-2009, 09:01 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (20)
 
GIGAWATTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: bloomington, Ill
Posts: 344
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default HYDROPLANING AN E-REVO

my first run at hydroplane an E-REVO
its on youtube titled
FIRST E-REVO DRIVING ON WATER RC HYDROPLANE



I need alot more torque and rpm
GIGAWATTS is offline  
Old 12-26-2009, 10:11 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (20)
 
GIGAWATTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: bloomington, Ill
Posts: 344
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

anyone tried to hydroplane more than 30 feet
GIGAWATTS is offline  
Old 12-26-2009, 10:16 AM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (20)
 
GIGAWATTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: bloomington, Ill
Posts: 344
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

anyone tried to hydroplane with the the losi wedges LOSB7203
GIGAWATTS is offline  
Old 12-26-2009, 01:18 PM
  #4  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZxnG0cYs-4s

That was unreal at ~1:10 when it sank completely out of sight and just kept going...
Duster_360 is offline  
Old 12-26-2009, 01:50 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
snowboard094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sac Town CA
Posts: 1,973
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

is it brushless?
snowboard094 is offline  
Old 12-26-2009, 05:18 PM
  #6  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

No, 12v Dewalt drill motor on 5S lipo - says right at the end of the clip. But its still a little surprising to see it completely sink and go out of sight and sit there as he runs over to it and pulls it out, puts it back down and then drives it away.

I figured that'd be it!

I stay completely away from water -my stuff would be so gone.....
Duster_360 is offline  
Old 12-26-2009, 06:04 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
snowboard094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sac Town CA
Posts: 1,973
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Duster_360
No, 12v Dewalt drill motor on 5S lipo - says right at the end of the clip. But its still a little surprising to see it completely sink and go out of sight and sit there as he runs over to it and pulls it out, puts it back down and then drives it away.

I figured that'd be it!

I stay completely away from water -my stuff would be so gone.....
thats crazy. I have never heard of putting a drill motor in your revo. Hmmmm
snowboard094 is offline  
Old 12-26-2009, 06:06 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
sLaSh It UPP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,872
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

that is freakin crazy

Last edited by sLaSh It UPP; 12-26-2009 at 06:17 PM.
sLaSh It UPP is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 06:26 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (20)
 
GIGAWATTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: bloomington, Ill
Posts: 344
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Duster_360

That was unreal at ~1:10 when it sank completely out of sight and just kept going...
THANX
for posting the link, im new so they wont let me
GIGAWATTS is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 06:42 PM
  #10  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (20)
 
GIGAWATTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: bloomington, Ill
Posts: 344
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by snowboard094
thats crazy. I have never heard of putting a drill motor in your revo. Hmmmm
its the best low buck upgrade you can do for the E-REVO. you get monster torque and you still run the stock esc, so the whole mod is only $35-$40
and new brushes are like $4

I have a vid of it running in light snow on grass on yuotube under
E-REVO 5s DEWALT MOTOR 1ST VID

it will show you the torque it has and its geared 19/58 with HPI 5B Paddles in it
GIGAWATTS is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 07:01 PM
  #11  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by GIGAWATTS
THANX
for posting the link, im new so they wont let me
You're welcome...

It's not you, its anyone that joins til you get 10 posts.....

Here's the one you just mentioned -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=meO4iOr7edw

Don't know about usingthem in RC, but os there a diff in a 12v, 14.4v, 18v and 36v Dewalt drill motors?? Does it mount up easy, or does it require a new mount?
Duster_360 is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 07:11 PM
  #12  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (20)
 
GIGAWATTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: bloomington, Ill
Posts: 344
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Duster_360
You're welcome...

It's not you, its anyone that joins til you get 10 posts.....

Here's the one you just mentioned -

Don't know about usingthem in RC, but os there a diff in a 12v, 14.4v, 18v and 36v Dewalt drill motors?? Does it mount up easy, or does it require a new mount?
you use the stock motor plate and egg shape the wholes about a mm and you have to use a 5mm pinion, ITS CAKE

12V (396505-20) is the best because you have to over-volt it to get the rpm's back
GIGAWATTS is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 07:49 PM
  #13  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Now that you can do links and pics, post a pic of yours with shell off so we can see what your setup looks like.

So what you're saying the higer voltage motors wouldn't have the rpm because there would be less overvolting?

I might be interested in trying this with an Emaxx, I'm sure tired of Titans.
Duster_360 is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 08:00 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (20)
 
GIGAWATTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: bloomington, Ill
Posts: 344
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Duster_360
Now that you can do links and pics, post a pic of yours with shell off so we can see what your setup looks like.

So what you're saying the higer voltage motors wouldn't have the rpm because there would be less overvolting?

I might be interested in trying this with an Emaxx, I'm sure tired of Titans.
the E-MAXX it harder to do, but can be done my buddy did it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z260VGD871A

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d_9ALh3GDc8
GIGAWATTS is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 08:16 PM
  #15  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (20)
 
GIGAWATTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: bloomington, Ill
Posts: 344
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

pic of the motor plate and truck in a min

Last edited by GIGAWATTS; 12-27-2009 at 08:30 PM.
GIGAWATTS is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.