Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Monster Trucks
Battery For Pede >

Battery For Pede

Battery For Pede

Old 05-25-2007, 10:00 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Battery For Pede

I Am About To Get A Stampede XL-5 Finally But What Is The The Biggest NiMh Pack I Can Put In It. Thinking Of Buying From www.cheapbatterypacks.com
Old 05-26-2007, 07:58 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)

Any sub C size will fit (be a tight fit) and are avasilable up to about 4600 mah now.
Old 05-30-2007, 07:52 AM
Tech Rookie

I Bought An 8 Cell 4500 mAh Battery Off Ebay, Says It's 25 mph Faster Than Normal 6 Cell.
Old 05-30-2007, 08:58 AM
Tech Master

sounds like a winner, make sure you gear it down because increasing the voltage in a sense "gears it up" .
Old 05-31-2007, 12:32 PM
Tech Rookie

Ok, ya uh.. how do i gear it down??? i feel stupid for askin but im kinda new to rc cars and trucks, used to planes.
Old 06-01-2007, 12:06 AM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

Ok, heres the long explanation.

Ok, the gear ratio is the number of turns the motor has to take for one rotation of the tires. The lower the ratio, the more acceleration and the less top speed you have. The higher the ratio is opposite.

The equation is I(S/P)=R. Where I is the internal ratio for the transmission, the Pede has a 2.72 (you can find that info in your owners manual most times). S is the number of teeth on the spur gear, and P is the number of teeth on the pinion gear.

A stock Pede has a 2.72 internal ratio, an 86 tooth spur, and a 19 tooth pinion.

So the formula is 2.72(86/19). 86 divided by 19 is 4.52, and multiply that by 2.72. Which works out to 12.3.(all rounded off to make it easy) So your motor turns 12.3 times for every time the tire rotates. Or a 12.3:1 ratio.