Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Monster Trucks
Any off-roaders using 2.4ghz radio system? >

Any off-roaders using 2.4ghz radio system?

Any off-roaders using 2.4ghz radio system?

Old 04-21-2007, 05:53 PM
  #1  
Moderator
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Cmotif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Spokane, Washington
Posts: 2,553
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Any off-roaders using 2.4ghz radio system?

Obviously they are not cheap, but probably the most glitch free radion system out there. How are they holding up to the abuse of off-road racing?

C
Cmotif is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 05:56 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
chrisf608's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Salem, WI
Posts: 269
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I have the Nomadio React works like a DREAM.
chrisf608 is offline  
Old 04-21-2007, 07:25 PM
  #3  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (38)
 
losi guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,258
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I use the Spektrum in my revo and it works great.

Last edited by losi guy; 04-22-2007 at 06:40 AM.
losi guy is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 01:27 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
 
Scruff_dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Narangba, outer part of Brisbane
Posts: 413
Default

Digital is way 2 go, only way to speed up digital servos, you can actually have 78 radios in one area all turned on at the same time with no glitches.
Ive got one on the savage that I race every 2nd Sunday.
Cost wise, its only aprox $100 more than a good FM turn dial radio.
Scruff_dog is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 06:48 AM
  #5  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
gabbyb3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 290
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default wow

just bought the futaba system... love it, feels faster than the standard spectrum.. feels more locked in and the built in fail safe is great... transmitter and rx 190$$ at my lhs.. great deal
gabbyb3 is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 11:10 AM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (19)
 
AcadDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 959
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Been using spectrum for awhile. No problems with it yet.
AcadDude is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 02:55 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
dallasv8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mareeba,Australia
Posts: 1,814
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Talking sensor

ive got the nomadio sensor and its doing great
dallasv8 is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 05:52 AM
  #8  
Tech Apprentice
 
beni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 69
Default

I've been using a spektrum system in my M11 for almost two yrs now with no problems.
beni is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 04:47 PM
  #9  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 610
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Nomadio Reach and its rock solid. You can beta the built in telemetry either. Look at RX voltage, tx voltage, motor temp, all on your radio. Feels 30% faster than the Spek Pro I was using in a JR EX-10 Helios too.
riverrevo is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 05:13 PM
  #10  
Tech Addict
 
Warhawk 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Mishawaka, IN
Posts: 563
Default

I have a spectrum in my KO helios and revo works perfectly.
Warhawk 1 is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 06:09 PM
  #11  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
wes95_z28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Norman, Ok
Posts: 747
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I have been using my specktrum system in nothing but off road vehicles for over two years and have never had a single problem. I started using it in my on road touring car at loyd noble center (a large arena where the OU basketball team plays) some of there electrical boxes and stuff disrupt it but worst case scenario it fail safes and then reboots and your good to go. It has only happened twice out there and i have been out there probably 30 times this year. Other than these two instances it is perfect absolutely perfect.
wes95_z28 is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 06:40 PM
  #12  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (19)
 
AcadDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 959
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I think those electric gliches would be noticed more with a 75mhz or 27mhz radio than the spektrum.
AcadDude is offline  
Old 04-24-2007, 07:45 AM
  #13  
Tech Elite
 
Horatio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 3,970
Default

The Spektrum stuff had glitches when we were racing indoors on carpet - they seemed to engage lock down mode and then recover after about 20 seconds. We thought that it was something to do with static, or some other form of Wifi interference (not possible as it turned out).

It turns out that that on electric powered cars, the receiver's voltage could occasionally drop below the minimum required (due to voltage spikes) for glitch free operation.

I think updated versions came out to help solve the problem.

Do any of you guys with Nomadio, Futaba, Spektrum 2.4ghz stuff know the safe operating range with the radios you're using? Or the Tx output power?

I'm interested in some of the newer systems available too, but if I go 'bashing' in a large open area with a large model, what are the safe limits of operation?
Horatio is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Your Privacy Choices -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.