Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Monster Trucks
Aftershock won't start >

Aftershock won't start

Aftershock won't start

Old 12-10-2006, 07:05 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Aftershock won't start

I am pretty new to this hobby so I bought an Aftershock to get my feet wet. After 5 tanks of gas, I cannot get the truck started. I did convert to spin start as the pull start was becoming a pain. Glow plug meter is green, some gas is coming out of the pipe, adjusted carb back to stock (3 turns out for idle/mixture). It sounds like it wants to go, but never does. The only thing I can see that is different than before is, no matter how much I think it's primed, I never see gas on the glow plug when I remove it. Shouldn't I be able to "flood" the truck? I would think there would be some gas on or around the area where the glow plug inserts. Again, I am total rookie here and appreciate any and all feedback.
Old 12-11-2006, 12:43 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)

Hi,
Not exactually sure with the aftershock but a really good site to look at would be http://lstforums.com/forums/
Is the engine turning over?

Cheers
Old 12-11-2006, 08:13 AM
Tech Regular

Sounds like you have an air leak in the fuel system - check the tank and tubing for holes/leaks. Yes, it should be rather easy to flood the truck. Especially at stock carb settings.
Old 12-12-2006, 07:36 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)

Originally Posted by LSTracerX
Sounds like you have an air leak in the fuel system - check the tank and tubing for holes/leaks. Yes, it should be rather easy to flood the truck. Especially at stock carb settings.

I agree, my brothers was fine and then he had the same problem, it was the fuel tank lid, it had a air leak.
Old 12-12-2006, 10:23 PM
Tech Master