Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Electric Motor Seized Up...

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2020, 10:25 AM
Tech Champion

Default Electric Motor Seized Up...

Was just out messing around with my ancient converted Tamiya TRF801XT truggy, which has an MT4 G3 power system. All of a sudden the motor seems to have frozen up..

I took it apart but didn't see anything obvious. But then I am not experienced with brushless cars much or with working on motors. So, two questions:

1.) Is it repairable?

2.) What would be a good cheap drop-in replacement? I drive mostly 4S, but want the option of 5S...

I found another Ripper 2000kv for €75 shipped, but was kind of hoping Hobbyking had something equivalent for cheaper... I'm not looking to upgrade or race or whatever. Just want something at least as good.. This motor has been great btw - as has the one in my MT4 G3, which is still running fine..

Thanks..

Thanks.

ps I took it apart and put it back together, then saw I'd forgotten this thing. It is ripped on the other side.. When I had the main shaft out, with the bit or bits which go around it, it would not rotate by hand. I don't know if that is normal or not though..
Old 04-28-2020, 10:34 AM
Tech Champion

How about this?

https://www.ebay-kleinanzeigen.de/s-...58686-249-1749
Old 04-28-2020, 12:08 PM
Tech Elite

herrsavage.. The motor you have has a 5mm pinion shaft the 1 in ebay add has a 1/8" id stay with a 550 size motor with a 5mm shaft.. check bearing in end caps ….id go up as high as 3200kv...
Old 04-28-2020, 12:23 PM
Tech Elite

man you got a tremendous experience in RCs : when a motor is dead, you better replace it ! there a loads of 2000kv these days, i like the leopard hobby or hobbystar motors that rcjuice.com sales
Old 04-28-2020, 11:31 PM
Tech Champion

I don't think those Leopard motors are available as much over here in Europe, and almost certainly not for the kind of price range I'd be looking at.

HK has a 4074 2000kv, but not in stock...