Community
Wiki Posts
Search

RC18B2 Low Speed Stuttering

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2015, 09:06 AM
Tech Adept

Default RC18B2 Low Speed Stuttering

Hi everyone! I just got a RC18B2 brushless RTR and everything seems to work great except at low to medium throttle, the car stutters about every second, as if the throttle was being cut very briefly or something was getting snagged. I'm pretty new to RCs, but I can't seem to find anything mechanically wrong with it. Belts and tension seem good, slipper clutch seems to be adjusted correctly, even tried remounting the whelels (it doesn't seem to like having them on too tight). If I roll it by hand everything is smooth, nothing seems to be snagging or anything. Once I apply more than medium throttle it runs just fine and it can hit top speed with no issues.

Sooo I've been searching the Internet far and wide for this problem with no reported solution. It seems like the main culprit could be the ESC, but I'm having a problem getting that to reset, the SET button doesn't seem to work no matter how closely I follow the directions. I put in an email to AE support, maybe there's something wrong with the ESC..? Anyway, looking for help if anyone has any ideas. Thanks!
Old 04-11-2015, 11:49 AM
Tech Apprentice

When you say slow or medium throttle do you mean at very slow speed?

My first diagnosis is ESC/Motor "cogging", which is a very common thing that happens with sensorless motors. Reason for cogging is that the motor gets more or less stuck between the motor magnets. In a two pole motor, the stator will bounce back and forth between the poles and runs pretty jerky, trying to figure out where the stator is compared to the poles. In a sensored motor, the motor has sensors so that the ESC always knows where the stator is in relation to the magnets, eliminating the cogging virtually 100%. Sensored motors typically way more expensive and typically don't come stock in a RTR car.