Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2013, 04:24 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

so then what would you spec out for the mini 8ight in the scorpion motor now
Old 01-01-2013, 04:54 PM
Tech Addict

Originally Posted by Nologicone
Nice. It's good to see posts like these because that was how I started to read up on electronic fundamentals to understand stuffs like this. I'm still learning.

So let me tap on your knowledge respectfully. How did you determine the stock Losi ESC is able to handle 4s as long as we use an UBEC? For the life of me, I go with specs and it is stated the Xcelorin ESC is rated 3s max.

Thanks in advance.

I guess the deal with outrunners is probably the spinning can deal because surface vehicles can tumble, cartwheel, land big jumps but keep going. Planes/heli usually don't do that much movement in terms of chassis flex except for 3D flying helis.
Well we know that the stock esc is rated for 3s and 32amps constant. What we need to focus on is the amps. Not the volts. When they build their esc they built this one with an internal bec that is rated at 3s. So in other words if you run a 4s lipo you will most likely blow out the bec in the esc. What we do to override the 3s rating is to run an external bec. Like a castle bec. Its rated up to like 6s lipo. Now when we plug the 4s battery into the esc because we are running an external bec the internal one in the esc is bypassed.
Now all we care about is our amp rating. So we can even run 5s lipo or a 6s as long as we dont' over amp the esc, or cause too much heat, voltage no longer matters..
I have been doing this for the last few years. And it works 100% of the time to my knowledge.

In other words an esc's voltage rating is determined by the internal bec. The other part of the esc is regulated by amperage.

Last edited by holycaveman; 01-01-2013 at 05:07 PM.
Old 01-01-2013, 05:09 PM
Tech Master

im still waiting to see the motor you pick i want that scorpion we first talked about