Wiki Posts
Search

18T vs. 18T2 vs. SC18

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2011, 07:27 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default 18T vs. 18T2 vs. SC18

I have the original RTR 18T. I have a Mamba 25 in it, carbon fiber chassis, titanium turnbuckles, the whol 9 yards.

I have never been able to get it set up right, for whatever reason, so its been a really badass basher for a while. I am considering putting a few bucks into it to get it dialed in, or upgrading.

I know the 18T2 and SC18 is belt drive. is there a downside to this over the shaft drive? more of a pain in the ass etc?

how many parts do these 3 share? ball diff, wheels, etc.? Can I swap the tunrbuckles over?

I took the 18T to the local track which is for 1/10 1/8 scale. it was bouncing around a little but did pretty well. How much lower ground clearence is the SC18 from the 18T?

basically just trying to figure out if its worth getting a new truck and starting all over or if they arent all that different.
Old 01-13-2011, 09:57 AM
Tech Apprentice

Thumbs up Hrmmm

Well I tell ya, I have never owned/driven an rc18t. With that being said, if I were you, already having an rc18t, I would keep it and work on it.

The only difference I can see between the first one and the second one are the drives are different. Which is the reason I tell you that if you are remotely (no pun) happy with the rc18t as of right now, stick with it.

The belt drive is nice but its not 100% ready out of the box. If you get an older rc18t2, you will have to ask AE for a new revised front gearbox which fixes a belt tension problem.Also the belt has a tendency to rub the pinion which causes drag and some heat on the motor. Ae says they are working on a fix for the pinion rubbing problem but I have yet to have heard when.

Those are the two major problems with the T2/b2/sc18.