RC18t, what is broken?

Old 10-01-2008, 06:57 PM
tdw
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default RC18t, what is broken?

I am new to RC cars so please excuse my lack of knowledge. I recently got a used rc18t and was playing with it in my driveway when all of the sudden, anytime I gave it gas the front left wheel assembly (tire, lower arm, etc) would thrash wildly up and down. I noticed that when I turn the wheel all the way to the left the wheel cannot make a full rotation without forcing itself back to center. Any ideas on what I need to replace/fix? Thanks!
-Tyler
Old 10-01-2008, 07:13 PM
Tech Apprentice

Originally Posted by tdw View Post
I am new to RC cars so please excuse my lack of knowledge. I recently got a used rc18t and was playing with it in my driveway when all of the sudden, anytime I gave it gas the front left wheel assembly (tire, lower arm, etc) would thrash wildly up and down. I noticed that when I turn the wheel all the way to the left the wheel cannot make a full rotation without forcing itself back to center. Any ideas on what I need to replace/fix? Thanks!
-Tyler
Check your dogbone for straightness...make sure the spring is still behind it in the outdrive. The dogbone should slide in and out freely with the slight pressure of the spring. It may be getting hung up in either end

If you have cvd's. Check for straightness. Pop off the top turnbuckle and make sure the cvd pivots and turns freely.

If all that is OK then take the wheel off and check the axle for straightness.

If you still don't find the problem, just repost with what you found.
Old 10-01-2008, 07:29 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Sounds like a missing dogbone spring to me.
Old 10-01-2008, 07:29 PM
tdw
Tech Initiate