Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Micro and Mini Scales
Finished my M18 PRO but having mamba issue :) >

Finished my M18 PRO but having mamba issue :)

Finished my M18 PRO but having mamba issue :)

Old 01-05-2007, 04:09 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
BIGTACO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 520
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default Finished my M18 PRO but having mamba issue :)

So I finished my new baby. Looks kick arse and I am ready to hit the track but am having a bit of an issue. For a little background info here is what I am running.

Mamba competition x package.
Thunderpower 1320 3c lipo (13C cont /20C burst) with deans plugs at all connections.
12 tooth pinion and 42 tooth spur.

I have tried all the recommended setting within the castle link program to get rid of the issue with no success. Tried "Low" on the start up power setting. Tried "100%" on punch control, ect ect...

The motor does some really bad hickupping before it willl take off. Almost like turbo lag but its getting really quick little bursts of throttle where it should be accelerating smoothly. I really have to get on the gas to get rid of it. I have read of "cogging" but with my setup there should be no issue with pulling the required amount of amps. What could be causing this?



Last edited by BIGTACO; 01-05-2007 at 05:11 PM.
BIGTACO is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 05:09 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
 
duneland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NW Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,403
Default

The hesitation issues are related to amp draw and software verrsions. You have the right gearing to reduce amp draw, and have good connectors, so I would look at software version or profile as the possible culpret.
If you don't have a mamba link, find someone who does and check the software version. Update to 1.4 or later. I have 1.5 on mine but think it was better with 1.4.
Use low start power setting and low timing. Higher timing and start power settings increase amp draw at start up, which increases the likelihood of stuttering.
duneland is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 05:51 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
BIGTACO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 520
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I updated to firmware 1.5 and tried 1.4.
I also tried all recommended software settings from within the software.
Could I be in need of a 2000mah lipo instead of the 1320 I have now?
BIGTACO is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 07:53 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
BIGTACO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 520
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I just noticed this on my batteries desciption :

"Reccommendations: 18oz & lighter models using Speed 400 sized brushed or brushless motors requiring 17amps or less in continuous current."

Doesnt the mamba esc pull 25 amps?
BIGTACO is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 09:14 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
Bermbuster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Metro NYC
Posts: 1,871
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

what tx are you using and how are the settings? they too can influence how the mamba operates.
Bermbuster is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 09:43 PM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,687
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Honestly- the Mamba esc can be a headache when it comes to stuttering. Change batteries, plugs, software, capacitors, pinion size profiles yada yada and more likely than not it will still stutter. The easiest thing to do is to change the ESC.
MikeR is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:35 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Mini_Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thats a pro-lite 1320 right? Those should work fine. Mambas are rated up to 25Amp, not that they draw it (especially in a Sedan). The main problem could be running a 3cell with the 8000. When Shawn Palmer still worked for Castle, he always said that running a lower kv with 3 cells gave better results than a higher.
Mini_Me is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:38 PM
  #8  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
BIGTACO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 520
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Berbuster the Transmitter is a spektrum with the mini reciever.

Hmm...what 2 do what 2 do...

Perhaps I will pick up a 6800 motor tomarrow and see if that cures it. A real shame if I can't run the 8000 at my track due to this cogging mess

Last edited by BIGTACO; 01-05-2007 at 10:50 PM.
BIGTACO is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:21 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Mini_Me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

BTW You don't want to zip tie your wires to the multiflex upper deck. It will put it out of tweak, and wont act consistent on track.

I would say even go down to a 54.
Mini_Me is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:35 PM
  #10  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 52
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I get the feeling the battery just can't supply the amps required. Try borrowing a slower Mamba motor if you can to try out.
Must be one huge track if you're using an 8000kv motor with a 3S LiPo. Not often you need your motor turning 90000 rpm.
TheSteve is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 12:33 AM
  #11  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
BIGTACO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 520
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

TheSteve its 250x70 feet
BIGTACO is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 12:35 AM
  #12  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
BIGTACO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 520
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mini_Me
BTW You don't want to zip tie your wires to the multiflex upper deck. It will put it out of tweak, and wont act consistent on track.

I would say even go down to a 54.
Thanks for the tip Mini
BIGTACO is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:56 AM
  #13  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
BIGTACO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 520
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Well I changed to a 6400 mamba motor and still the same cogging issue. I mean no change really at all. This is really pissing me off now... Perhaps I should change to a Quark controller.
BIGTACO is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 02:24 AM
  #14  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
oXYnary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,301
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

before you start throwing more money in it, check with a different set of batteries and if not call Castle.. you could have a dud.
oXYnary is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 04:58 AM
  #15  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,583
Default

Silly question. Is the lipo fully charged? I'm running an 8000 in an M18 with no stutter. I'm using GP 1100s. When the battery dump the car stutters.

Try to reroute the Micro Spektrum antenna away from the power wires. If the receiver has problems it'll go into safe mode which by default is to cut power to the motor.
Sydewynder is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.