Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Micro and Mini Scales
Official AE RC18 Thread! >

Official AE RC18 Thread!

Like Tree1Likes

Official AE RC18 Thread!

Old 05-26-2009, 07:21 PM
  #1501  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mountain Home
Posts: 76
Default

Check out the Tekin Rage systems. I just got one for my 18B. They are a little more expensive, but I think you pay for what you get. Depending upon what you want it for, the 6900 will be more than enough. The 8000 is way to much power for most.

Kevin
KevinL is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 08:26 PM
  #1502  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: vineland nj
Posts: 186
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

cool i have looked into them
what about the losi system and the mamba systems
dcm0070 is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 07:48 PM
  #1503  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mountain Home
Posts: 76
Default

The Mamba system is well rated by many on here. I do not like Losi very much, but that is a personal preference. I have also been looking at the Sidewinder/AON motor combo. I try to support the local folks here in Idaho, that was the main reason I went with Tekin.

Kevin
KevinL is offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 07:51 AM
  #1504  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
Deves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

When I had my 18t I ran the Mamba. The computer link that comes with it is the best. It make adjusting the speed control sooooo easy.
Deves is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 04:35 PM
  #1505  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default

If anyone has a 18B roller and is looking for an 18R roller send me a PM..
mcgmark is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 06:27 PM
  #1506  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
cwoods34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indy-freakin'-ana
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I highly recommend the Mamba system, 6800 motor and an updated ESC. The software is great, highly adjustable, and the throttle curve is smooth and responsive. I'm been racing with it for about a year now, even the same motor and it has been put through HELL
cwoods34 is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 07:08 PM
  #1507  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (25)
 
trdsupra88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southwest
Posts: 2,531
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

I(ve alwats wanted to try one of the other systems but its hard to beat computer control...you never have to wonder of your throttle inputs didnt get caught right...lipo setting are the only thing I change through the link and thats all I need...
trdsupra88 is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 10:09 PM
  #1508  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default

On the stock transmitter it has knobs for Throttle ATV High Low?

Out of the box they were set to the middle, arrows pointing 12 o'clock

Where should they be set so my throttle or braking is not being restricted?

Originally Posted by trdsupra88 View Post
I(ve alwats wanted to try one of the other systems but its hard to beat computer control...you never have to wonder of your throttle inputs didnt get caught right...lipo setting are the only thing I change through the link and thats all I need...
I'm soo OCD about that i'll often redo the settings more than once. I just don't trust it heh...
mcgmark is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 10:19 PM
  #1509  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (25)
 
trdsupra88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southwest
Posts: 2,531
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

I jacked em all the way forward and dont forget about the thumb dial for the steering EPA...
trdsupra88 is offline  
Old 06-11-2009, 09:29 AM
  #1510  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default

I purchased the blue Dp gear cover and from looking at pictures and video of it I can't tell.

Does using this make setting your gear mesh impossible?


Originally Posted by trdsupra88 View Post
I jacked em all the way forward and dont forget about the thumb dial for the steering EPA...
Thanks i'll try that.

The Steering EPA is handy. It's nice to be able to dial back the steering.

I said forget about the stock radio and grabbed a spektrum. I've wanted one for a long time.

Last edited by mcgmark; 06-14-2009 at 02:14 PM.
mcgmark is offline  
Old 06-15-2009, 01:23 PM
  #1511  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
cwoods34's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indy-freakin'-ana
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Well, thought I would try something new this past Saturday. Typically I race my 18T with 2 ball diffs and foam tires (1/12 adapters).

I found a set of the stock rubber pin-tires that are basically slicks now from being worn down. I cleaned them off with Greased Lightning, re-glued the rims, then let them soak through 3 coats of Paragon.

I also put in my MIP fixed one-way. For those who don't know what that is, basically off-throttle it allows the front wheels to free-spin, but on throttle it is a locked axle. Fast 1/10 rubber TC's use spools and fixed one-ways.

I swapped springs and put blue on the front, gold on the rear.

I was worried about the tires losing their "stickiness" near the end of a 5-minute heat, but they didn't. I never had any problems with them losing traction, slipping, getting loose, etc. and our carpet is only about medium traction.

I was running faster times with my new rubber setup than I ever have with a foam setup. The AE rubber tires also made jumping much more forgiving.

BTW, the powertrain is Mamba 6800 and 1600 NiMh Orion pack.

I placed 2nd to my friend's very fast 18R on foams, but it wasn't due to lack of speed. I ran the fastest lap of the night in the A-main by about a full second over anyone else. I was having problems with the ball cups stripping from the turnbuckle so I probably sat out 3 laps because of it.

Definitely give the setup a try if you have the parts. I was running 60 wt. oil in the front, 40 wt. oil in the back, with arms level all around, 1* toe-out front, 0* toe rear. Camber is 1* all around, but I plan to try 2* in the front due to the rubber tires rolling more.

You could possibly just "lock" the front diff for the same effect, but you would have to adjust the setup accordingly to get more off-throttle steering since you lose some rotation without the one-way action.

Just thought I'd share some tips and a setup I found over the weekend!
cwoods34 is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 07:36 PM
  #1512  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
clamber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How do I know if my diffs are too tight?
clamber is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 08:31 PM
  #1513  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (25)
 
trdsupra88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southwest
Posts: 2,531
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

If you are running the stock motor, I go by turning one wheel real quick by hand to the point where the diff is in action and not turning the other wheels and turning one wheel slowly will turn the other three...
trdsupra88 is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 08:34 PM
  #1514  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
clamber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Good tip, but its not the stock motor. Its a 6800 Sidewinder.
clamber is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 09:21 PM
  #1515  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (25)
 
trdsupra88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southwest
Posts: 2,531
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

In that case...with the front pressed against the table spin the rear wheel hard and the other wheel should make two revolutions...same for the front wheels...
trdsupra88 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.