Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Micro and Mini Scales
GL Racing GLF F1 Chassis >

GL Racing GLF F1 Chassis

Like Tree285Likes

GL Racing GLF F1 Chassis

Old 05-05-2020, 10:33 PM
  #436  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (9)
 
Billy Kelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Far south suburbs of Chicago area
Posts: 16,909
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Vintagedriver View Post
that appears to be the stock esc. Trying to mount the sensored
yeah. Missed the sensored part.
Billy Kelly is offline  
Old 05-06-2020, 07:11 AM
  #437  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Denver 5280 Raceway
Posts: 719
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Billy Kelly View Post
yeah. Missed the sensored part.
No problem. After 45 minutes of trying to put a square peg in a round hole I gave up and put the stock speedo back in. Iíll try the sensored setup in my GLR. Bums me out, the GLF is so sensitive to throttle input I was curious how the sensored system would feel in that car.
FYI, MRCS has 2500KV sensored motors available.
Vintagedriver is offline  
Old 05-06-2020, 07:43 AM
  #438  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (9)
 
Billy Kelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Far south suburbs of Chicago area
Posts: 16,909
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Vintagedriver View Post
No problem. After 45 minutes of trying to put a square peg in a round hole I gave up and put the stock speedo back in. Iíll try the sensored setup in my GLR. Bums me out, the GLF is so sensitive to throttle input I was curious how the sensored system would feel in that car.
FYI, MRCS has 2500KV sensored motors available.
I considering trying a 2500. My race host were expecting there delivery of stuff right after the last race.

I donít know if any of the others run sensored in their F1.
Billy Kelly is offline  
Old 05-06-2020, 07:44 AM
  #439  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (9)
 
Billy Kelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Far south suburbs of Chicago area
Posts: 16,909
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default


Pinion finds all the track debris. No other car I run does this.
Billy Kelly is offline  
Old 05-06-2020, 10:11 AM
  #440  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Denver 5280 Raceway
Posts: 719
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Figured it out! The GL sensored esc is much smaller than stock. I was able to remove the electronics plate and mounted the esc and receiver directly to the chassis. No interference with side links. Getting ready to calibrate and give it a go!
NutDriver and tomthegeek like this.
Vintagedriver is offline  
Old 05-06-2020, 01:12 PM
  #441  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Denver 5280 Raceway
Posts: 719
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default


Routing the sensor cable was challenging. Battery plug is not built into the speedo which kinda sucks. Both manageable. Feels very smooth. Waiting for the program box to dial it in. Not sure if this one can be programmed without it. Tried all my Hobbywing boxes and my WiFi module but no luck. 😭
lore likes this.
Vintagedriver is offline  
Old 05-06-2020, 04:52 PM
  #442  
Tech Regular
 
lore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Singapore but Italian
Posts: 393
Default

Originally Posted by Vintagedriver View Post

Routing the sensor cable was challenging. Battery plug is not built into the speedo which kinda sucks. Both manageable. Feels very smooth. Waiting for the program box to dial it in. Not sure if this one can be programmed without it. Tried all my Hobbywing boxes and my WiFi module but no luck. 😭
Hi, It cannot program without but the standard program is a good starting point.

I would turn motor with the board facing the diff for body clearance, always make sure when you swing the rear left and right that the body once install it does not touch anything or the side rod suspension will not work properly.

nice fitment of the esc.
lore is offline  
Old 05-06-2020, 05:24 PM
  #443  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Denver 5280 Raceway
Posts: 719
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lore View Post
Hi, It cannot program without but the standard program is a good starting point.

I would turn motor with the board facing the diff for body clearance, always make sure when you swing the rear left and right that the body once install it does not touch anything or the side rod suspension will not work properly.

nice fitment of the esc.
Thank you sir. I opted to trim the body to fully clear the sensor board on the motor. Standard programming is fine except no reverse. My boards are round pvc, like a magnet sucking the front wing in! I also prefer to turn forward power down with the esc rather than TX epa. Assuming thatís an option with this esc...
lore likes this.
Vintagedriver is offline  
Old 05-13-2020, 09:34 AM
  #444  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (9)
 
Billy Kelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Far south suburbs of Chicago area
Posts: 16,909
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default


Gonna try something for home use. It will get a brand new set of tires shortly. Just couldn’t get the slicks I’ve been running to work at home.
Billy Kelly is offline  
Old 05-13-2020, 11:01 AM
  #445  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Denver 5280 Raceway
Posts: 719
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Billy Kelly View Post

Gonna try something for home use. It will get a brand new set of tires shortly. Just couldnít get the slicks Iíve been running to work at home.
I put 14mm PN super soft radials on the back and they were magical! Paired with 23į fronts the car was fantastic. Ordered the brass chassis hoping the car will feel even better.
Vintagedriver is offline  
Old 05-13-2020, 11:09 AM
  #446  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (9)
 
Billy Kelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Far south suburbs of Chicago area
Posts: 16,909
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Vintagedriver View Post
I put 14mm PN super soft radials on the back and they were magical! Paired with 23į fronts the car was fantastic. Ordered the brass chassis hoping the car will feel even better.
I know itís mostly my fault for not constantly cleaning my home track. Not one of mine can run slicks at home. Iím probably due for new tires when the group gets back together. They seemed fine at the last practice in March.

Now itís a matter of readjusting all the controller settings I made trying to get it around the track.
Billy Kelly is offline  
Old 05-13-2020, 12:02 PM
  #447  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Denver 5280 Raceway
Posts: 719
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Billy Kelly View Post
I know itís mostly my fault for not constantly cleaning my home track. Not one of mine can run slicks at home. Iím probably due for new tires when the group gets back together. They seemed fine at the last practice in March.

Now itís a matter of readjusting all the controller settings I made trying to get it around the track.
Iíve been setting my track up on our deck. Between temperature fluctuation and outdoor filth itís a constant battle! Vacuum and sponge mop constantly. Also frequent tire changing as temps in Colorado fluctuate rapidly!
Vintagedriver is offline  
Old 05-13-2020, 12:15 PM
  #448  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (9)
 
Billy Kelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Far south suburbs of Chicago area
Posts: 16,909
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Vintagedriver View Post
Iíve been setting my track up on our deck. Between temperature fluctuation and outdoor filth itís a constant battle! Vacuum and sponge mop constantly. Also frequent tire changing as temps in Colorado fluctuate rapidly!
Temps have been up and down near Chicago. Itís almost always under 60s in my basement. Iíve wiper down a few trouble spots. Never vacuumed. I donít have one safe to use on it.
Billy Kelly is offline  
Old 05-13-2020, 10:00 PM
  #449  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (9)
 
Billy Kelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Far south suburbs of Chicago area
Posts: 16,909
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

First night with the radials. Some signs of improvement. I will say I’m absolutely fed up with the Futaba 4PL. It’s been ok for 1/10. Nothing but a disappointment for small scale for me. Once the group is back, I’ll get a couple receivers for the EX6.


Billy Kelly is offline  
Old 05-14-2020, 06:43 AM
  #450  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Denver 5280 Raceway
Posts: 719
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Billy Kelly View Post
First night with the radials. Some signs of improvement. I will say Iím absolutely fed up with the Futaba 4PL. Itís been ok for 1/10. Nothing but a disappointment for small scale for me. Once the group is back, Iíll get a couple receivers for the EX6.
Are you having issues with the radio or receiver? Iím using the Futaba compatible micro receiver and it has been less than reliable. Some days itís perfectly fine, others itís a royal PIA! Reading many micro/mini threads here, I concluded it must be a lousy product as there are many reports of issues with this receiver. However, my son is using the same receiver and his works perfectly. Not one single glitch. We both use 4PX Ďs. Iím thinking now it may be a QC issue. Iím going to see if GL will replace mine. Meanwhile Iíve purchased another micro for my GLR. Iíve been using a genuine Futaba standard receiver but will test my second micro in that car soon.
Vintagedriver is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.