• 1 Post By EMU
  • 1 Post By Mattdaddy1974
  • 1 Post By LJH
  • 1 Post By eR1c

Carpet for track

Old 04-08-2019, 07:43 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Carpet for track

I am just getting started in mini z racing. I race on RCP track but I would like to practice at home. What carpet do you recommend for use at home to practice on?

Thank you
Old 04-08-2019, 11:11 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)

Give this stuff a try.

https://www.menards.com/main/floorin...6476222&ipos=9
Old 04-08-2019, 10:42 PM
EMU
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

If possible, speak with Micheal at Tracks and hobbies, and see what he had under the oval test track. I think that would be an excellent surface for a small test track.

In general, you would want the lowest pile carpet that you can get. Meaning, as little height as you can find, with the finest weave pattern. The thicker the carpet, generally the more it will move under the car and reduce traction, giving a squirmy feel.
Kremzeek likes this.
Old 04-24-2019, 09:12 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Agreed about lowest pile carpet you can get. I went to home depot and got a piece of their least expensive office carpet, its super tight loop. I run on the underside of the carpet which isnt even a loop... it works great and only cost $35. I use masking tape to mark the track lines.
Old 04-24-2019, 09:17 AM
Tech Elite

...i do keep thinking about getting an RCP track as that's what they hold races on at the club I go to and it is a nice surface. Carpet is just easy though as I can roll it up if I want to use the space for something else other than RC cars. Plus i can walk on it w/o worry of ruining the surface... okay, iam talking myself out of RCP again...
Old 05-04-2019, 10:47 AM
Tech Adept

I'd get the RCP since that's what you race on for setup reasons alone. You would have to constantly change tires and suspension setups for the different surfaces. Just my $.02
eR1c likes this.
Old 05-04-2019, 10:50 AM
Tech Champion