Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > Company/Manufacturer Forums > MaxAmps Support Forum
4000 / 6000mah saddle pk's  performance?? >

4000 / 6000mah saddle pk's performance??

4000 / 6000mah saddle pk's performance??

 
Old 01-09-2008, 06:50 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
JEFFRO503's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St Helen's OR
Posts: 462
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default 4000 / 6000mah saddle pk's performance??

Guys......

I will be getting a new AE B44 here pretty soon , and from the max amp site they say both of these batteries fit no problem.

questions :

1.) running a brushless setup in a 4wd buggy , what are your run times with either one of these packs? Curious to find out how long they can actually go.

2.) obviously the 4000mah saddle pack will weigh less than the 6000mah pack , but on a track , can you tell that much of a difference?


EDIT : i think the newer batts are 4400 and 6300mah correct?


I think i'll try one of each pach to start with , and which ever one i like the most for my driving habits , i'll re-stock back back up with another 3 packs i guess.

just wanted someone with any experince running either one ( or possibly both ) of these packs.

thanks guys.
JEFFRO503 is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 08:19 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
kenshu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 922
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Straight from MAXAMPS

We thought they were going to be 6300's but when we got the cells, they ended up being 6000's. Our prototype was 6300mah so that is probably what got posted.

Clint
kenshu is offline  
Old 01-10-2008, 11:18 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 1,061
Default

They perform just as good as the old saddle pack but now they have more capacity in the 6000 and they fit better with no mods needed.

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 11:47 AM
  #4  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (294)
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 34,378
Trader Rating: 294 (100%+)
Default

Based on what I have been reading, you may want the bigger packs so you don't have to add a lot of weight to rear. Also, can't complain about added runtime.
Cain is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 01:48 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 1,061
Default

We've got guys that run our 6000 2S2P packs. They'll run 3 qualifiers and some even run the main all on the same pack without recharging. Heck a bunch even win. I look at it this way........buy one for the qualifiers and one for the main. Then you don't even have to bring your charger to the track.

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 05:11 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
JEFFRO503's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St Helen's OR
Posts: 462
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

so with the 4000mah pack i would probably have to add some weight to the rear of the buggy? So it it sounds like the 6000mah packs would be the way to go i guess.

and Jason....your saying i could get like 20 minute run times , maybe a little more , maybe a little less with the 6000mah?

Just want to make sure , when i get the batteries , i don't get the wrong size i'll need. I'll probably buy 3 of them i believe.
JEFFRO503 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 06:45 PM
  #7  
B44
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
B44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,714
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Smile

ran the new 6000mah this week in my b44 ran 3 qual's with out charging.
B44 is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 11:31 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
JEFFRO503's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: St Helen's OR
Posts: 462
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

oooooo man that sounds sweet! I can remember back just a few years ago when i could only get 5-6 min run times with my 2400 and 2800 mah sub-c packs , and dreaming of a pack that would give me 20 minuter run times. Yep..definetly time to get back into electric i guess hehe.
JEFFRO503 is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 07:39 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 1,061
Default

Now isn't that just cool. Charge two packs at home and go race for the day!

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 06:23 PM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
kenshu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 922
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The 6000 saddle pack from Maxamps requires the following for a B44. First you do have to raise your battery post 6-7 mm. I put a spacer under the blue post. Then even with dremeling the tray out, the battery didn't fit the way I liked. So I made my own tray out of .040 lexan. Then the darn wires. I cut the pack very carefully around the wires and seperated them. So now I have wires coming out on both rear corners of the packs. But I can use the hold down without the wires getting smashed. Here are some pictures. The 3rd pic is my modified pack. And the last is a tray I made.
Attached Thumbnails 4000 / 6000mah saddle pk's  performance??-close-side.jpg   4000 / 6000mah saddle pk's  performance??-side.jpg   4000 / 6000mah saddle pk's  performance??-batt-done-right.jpg   4000 / 6000mah saddle pk's  performance??-tray.jpg   4000 / 6000mah saddle pk's  performance??-carside1.jpg  

kenshu is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 06:26 PM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
kenshu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 922
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Darn 5 pic limit. But I still am glad I bought one. It's like running your best NiMH pack everytime. Can you say POWER!!!!!!
Attached Thumbnails 4000 / 6000mah saddle pk's  performance??-cartop.jpg  

Last edited by kenshu; 01-15-2008 at 08:20 PM.
kenshu is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 03:36 PM
  #12  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (58)
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 323
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

6000mah fits perfectly per the website??? OK

Not so pleased with the fit in my B44 right now.

Kenshu, thanks for the modification update to make this work. Any risks with cutting the shrink near the wires? Any chance you can cut the battery while doing this?

Thanks
WHOBEE is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 05:22 PM
  #13  
B44
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
B44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,714
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Smile

Ken did my batt also,its no problem with removing the shrink.
B44 is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 07:16 PM
  #14  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
kenshu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 922
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just use a new blade and you're good to go.
kenshu is offline  
Old 01-16-2008, 07:50 PM
  #15  
Tech Champion
 
Mason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 5,497
Default

It would be a good change to move the wires towards the corners, one or the other or both. coming out the sides of the corners or on top of the corner in the center is a problem for off-road and many touring cars. If the wires came out of the pack about 1/4 the width of the pack, pretty much every car in the world would be happy.
Mason is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.