HK Talk Version 1.1

Old 12-28-2001, 07:47 AM
  #3496  
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Default

Originally posted by Disaster999


are you trying to tell him to get M8??? hahahaha!!!

DTM....how could the crystal just....FAIL...right at that moment? im using 3pj too with no PCM. i ran the car the whole day at PYC and nothing ran wrong!

whats does the PCM do besides failsafe?
999- Trust me.... it CAN happen!!! It was an original Futaba crystal that failed today.... that surprised me even more (I've had integy crystal fail before)! Fortunately, there was only a few on the track today..... had it been Saturday it would have been messy!!!

Mind you it may be because of the 75mhz I run.... I know this can be more particular!
dtm is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 07:48 AM
  #3497  
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Originally posted by dtm


I think my 3PJS is trying to tell me something. In 2 weeks I have had 1 PCM reciever fail, 1 integy crystal and 1 Futaba crystal!!!!!! You may find a 3PJS on the SH market shortly..... this TX is begining to frighten the hell out of me!!!!
stop dragging on this nightmare !!!
Manticore is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 07:49 AM
  #3498  
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Default

Originally posted by Manticore

stop dragging on this nightmare !!!
I get the message!!!!!!
dtm is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 07:50 AM
  #3499  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,617
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by dtm


999- Trust me.... it CAN happen!!! It was an original Futaba crystal that failed today.... that surprised me even more (I've had integy crystal fail before)! Fortunately, there was only a few on the track today..... had it been Saturday it would have been messy!!!

Mind you it may be because of the 75mhz I run.... I know this can be more particular!
it happened with my brothers crystals...he got a band from EGR and the people said that its a "very good" brand of crystals...so he bought it...and less then 4 months...it went crazy...
disaster999 is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 07:54 AM
  #3500  
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Default

Originally posted by Disaster999
whats does the PCM do besides failsafe?
Failsafe is plenty enough!!! It goes into failsafe mode if the car battery is low, loses signal/ signal interference. It does not go into failsafe if another Futaba radio is on with exactly your band!!!
dtm is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 07:56 AM
  #3501  
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Default

Originally posted by Disaster999


it happened with my brothers crystals...he got a band from EGR and the people said that its a "very good" brand of crystals...so he bought it...and less then 4 months...it went crazy...
I have had bad experiences with integy crystals. Have had 3 fail on me! Unfortunately, it is difficult to find the band I want in original Futaba crystal! Had I'd been running PCM today the car would have just gone into failsafe mode!
dtm is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 07:58 AM
  #3502  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
ernestf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,037
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Manticore


some body on xray VIP forum said that the latest batch comes with a motor and a set of serpent tire/rims!

ernestf: check this out if this is true.
Sure, I will check it out. But with $2,0xx, I wont consider it even it come with motor and tires/rims
ernestf is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 07:59 AM
  #3503  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,617
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by dtm


Failsafe is plenty enough!!! It goes into failsafe mode if the car battery is low, loses signal/ signal interference. It does not go into failsafe if another Futaba radio is on with exactly your band!!!
icic...but its the same getting a failsafe system right?
disaster999 is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 07:59 AM
  #3504  
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Default

Originally posted by Disaster999


hehehhe....sticking with older version is better...hahaha!!
I use to have a 3PJ..... the TX went strange! Have you checked your throttle acceleration lately!!??!! According to Harmony a lot of 3PJ fail on this. You would normally not notice this unless you use throttle acceleration!
dtm is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 08:00 AM
  #3505  
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Originally posted by dtm

It does not go into failsafe if another Futaba radio is on with exactly your band!!!
This is good enough to be no good !
Manticore is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 08:01 AM
  #3506  
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Default

Originally posted by Disaster999

icic...but its the same getting a failsafe system right?
Effectively the same. PCM has 2 channel failsafe positions, the KO failsafe 1 channel, but in reality you only need throttle failsafe.
dtm is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 08:02 AM
  #3507  
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Default

Originally posted by Manticore

This is good enough to be no good !
I'm not sure if the KO failsafe can prevent this?
dtm is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 08:03 AM
  #3508  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
ernestf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,037
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

i have a KO failsave unit, but i found it useless
ernestf is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 08:03 AM
  #3509  
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Default

Originally posted by ernestf

Sure, I will check it out. But with $2,0xx, I wont consider it even it come with motor and tires/rims
They've dropped the price!! I thought the tools and setup was supposed to be FREE. World Models is playing games again!!!!!
dtm is offline  
Old 12-28-2001, 08:03 AM
  #3510  
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

One thing about crystals.

Central of Japan has some precise pair of crystals and they come in odd frequency.

Unfortunately they dont have any M8 compatible crystals.
Manticore is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.