HK Talk Version 1.1

Old 02-02-2004, 08:17 AM
  #16261  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (14)
 
Diva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,131
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by dtm
I would check or calipers...if they are digital then that will be your problem.......

When I was a lad....and an apprentice.....the only digital calipers used in the workshop were Extremely expensive and calibrated very often!! Not your typical Sham Shui Po stuff!!!
I'm using digital one.
Diva is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 08:18 AM
  #16262  
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Originally posted by Diva
After 5 tanks of improper run-in (only around 40 deg C), my D5's pin diameter reads 4.23-4.24mm. It's not perfect cylindrical.

dtm: I'll not use your starter box for running-in cuz I have put the D5 on V1 for loaded-break-in next time. Thanks btw.
my D3 ran in at bench less then 35'C for at least 1 litre and when I replaced the conrod before lean it up, it was difficult to put the new conrod in.

low temp run in will make piston/sleeve bed in quicker with very rich needle setting.
Manticore is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 08:18 AM
  #16263  
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Default

Originally posted by KY9fat
Good one 4.29-4.30mm
Bad one 4.00-4.10mm
You see...the guys were right on the engine thread....you do need to replace your crankshaft after run in.......now who said that was BS!!??!!
dtm is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 08:20 AM
  #16264  
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Default

Originally posted by Manticore
my D3 ran in at bench less then 35'C for at least 1 litre and when I replaced the conrod before lean it up, it was difficult to put the new conrod in.

low temp run in will make piston/sleeve bed in quicker with very rich needle setting.
Thats because you did not use the dremel technique!!!
dtm is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 08:20 AM
  #16265  
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Originally posted by dtm
You see...the guys were right on the engine thread....you do need to replace your crankshaft after run in.......now who said that was BS!!??!!
virus? ky shaft got virus?
Manticore is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 08:22 AM
  #16266  
dtm
Tech Champion
 
dtm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: HKG
Posts: 7,551
Default

Originally posted by Manticore
virus? ky shaft got virus?
Oh no....."Mydoom" strikes again!!!!!

I told him to email NR with the batch number on the crank...probably find that they forgot to heat treat!!!!
dtm is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 08:28 AM
  #16267  
Tech Champion
 
Manticore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Heaven
Posts: 9,999
Default

Originally posted by dtm
Oh no....."Mydoom" strikes again!!!!!

I told him to email NR with the batch number on the crank...probably find that they forgot to heat treat!!!!
this virus bit smooth ! it looks very round and even on the wear !



Manticore is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 09:21 AM
  #16268  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Manticore
what did you use to run in your crankshaft?
Beach sand...
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 09:39 AM
  #16269  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,622
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

we gotta change the crank after run in?
disaster999 is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 05:38 PM
  #16270  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (14)
 
Diva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,131
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Manticore
my D3 ran in at bench less then 35'C for at least 1 litre and when I replaced the conrod before lean it up, it was difficult to put the new conrod in.

low temp run in will make piston/sleeve bed in quicker with very rich needle setting.
I dismantled the motor. Everything is fine except the conrod is fairly easy to be removed. But the situation is not as severe as infected by MyDoom
Diva is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 06:20 PM
  #16271  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (14)
 
Diva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,131
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by disaster999
we gotta change the crank after run in?
That's KY's practice
Diva is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 06:33 PM
  #16272  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

So Manti, do you remove the conrod after break in as a normal thing?
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 07:38 PM
  #16273  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (14)
 
Diva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,131
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Randman
So Manti, do you remove the conrod after break in as a normal thing?
Replacing conrod after break-in is a must. It's because during the process, the bushings of the conrod suffer from heavy loading and hence wear.
Diva is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 07:44 PM
  #16274  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Wow, I've honestly never heard of anyone doing that...
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 02-02-2004, 07:51 PM
  #16275  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
ernestf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 2,037
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

so far I managed to break in two new engines since I move to Singapore ... it's time to open up the engine and do the same measurement on my Sirio and OS
ernestf is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.