R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-29-2007, 01:01 PM   #331
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Elsinore, ca
Posts: 873
Default

I ran Spectrum for a while and had issues losing signal all the time. Granted it was one of the first ones. I picked up the Fasst system the oher day and so far so good. Much easier to bind also.
__________________
FT B44 - FT J82
LRP TC SPHERE - Futaba Fasst
Orion Lipo & Vortex motors
" Go that way really fast, if something gets in your way, turn"
tcmerf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 02:10 PM   #332
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdtanner
I am disabled and I have to use a stick radio. I have to steer with my left hand. I am wondering if I can use Futaba's 6EX 2.4 GHZ 6 channel airplane radio in an R/C car on asphault or carpet? I would use the rudder to steer with. I know there are a few stick radios for cars but they all have the steering on the right stick.

Thanks.

Chris
If your asking if it'll be legal freq. wise, then I don't see a problem. The manual for Futaba's 2.4Ghz module shows it being used in both the surface 3pk and their airplane radios. So I don't see why it would be an issue.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 02:13 PM   #333
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I'll be giving my 3PM 2.4Ghz FASST system a workout this coming weekend. It'll be outdoors on our local large permanent nitro track. Its a pretty big track, and I'm interested to see how the well system performs. Never had any issues with my 3PK FM system, so I'm expecting this to be just as good.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 03:49 AM   #334
Tech Fanatic
 
redsand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chicane.
Posts: 855
Send a message via Yahoo to redsand
Default Adjust Function ?

What does the Adjust function really do ? What is the Adjust function for ?
Again, Futaba manual just tells the owner how to operate the menu. The manual never really tells how and what each function is supposed to be used.
redsand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 07:11 AM   #335
Tech Elite
 
Rick Vessell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mars
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Redsand,

The adjust function is for when your wheel and trigger pots start to "drift" off center after lots of use. You can bring the pots back to "center" with the adjust menu. If you get beyond 15% on either function, it's time to send your TX in for calibration. The nice thing about the adjust function is that it moves your endpoints as well so you not just moving center like you do with the trim function.
Rick Vessell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 08:06 AM   #336
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 179
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdtanner
I am disabled and I have to use a stick radio. I have to steer with my left hand. I am wondering if I can use Futaba's 6EX 2.4 GHZ 6 channel airplane radio in an R/C car on asphault or carpet? I would use the rudder to steer with. I know there are a few stick radios for cars but they all have the steering on the right stick.
One of the members on our club uses a similar setup, don't know which radio though. You can use steering and throttle on the same stick so you can control the car with one hand. (like using a joystick )

I can't find which channels you should use for the speedo and servo, you'll have to look in the manual for that.
vassago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 10:13 PM   #337
Tech Fanatic
 
redsand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chicane.
Posts: 855
Send a message via Yahoo to redsand
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnySocko
Redsand,

The adjust function is for when your wheel and trigger pots start to "drift" off center after lots of use. You can bring the pots back to "center" with the adjust menu. If you get beyond 15% on either function, it's time to send your TX in for calibration. The nice thing about the adjust function is that it moves your endpoints as well so you not just moving center like you do with the trim function.
Thanks JonnySocko, that's what I needed. The manual never really tells what it does. Same thing happened from the 3PJ era, thick manual book - but it just explained how to get around the menus.
redsand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 04:36 PM   #338
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Anyone have the weight and dimensions of the 2.4Ghz receiver?
__________________
Yokomo * G Force * Sanwa * SMC * ProSpec
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 04:55 PM   #339
Tech Regular
 
secretsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

SPECS: Reception Antenna: Diversity type (internal and external)
Power Requirement: 6V NiCd battery DSC Function Available
Size: 1.5 x 1 x 0.55" (39 x 26 x 14mm)
Weight 0.50oz (14.1g)
secretsg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2007, 06:32 PM   #340
Tech Elite
 
2-Bad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,725
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for that, anyone know if Futaba are going to release a receiver similar to the Spektrum Micro (28 x 17 x 12mm; 5g)
__________________
Yokomo * G Force * Sanwa * SMC * ProSpec
2-Bad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 03:28 PM   #341
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,668
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

darn you Kevin K and you're FAAST Futaba...

Now I want one!
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2007, 11:52 AM   #342
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2-Bad View Post
Thanks for that, anyone know if Futaba are going to release a receiver similar to the Spektrum Micro (28 x 17 x 12mm; 5g)
to me the R603FS is already tiny and don't have problems with placement on the chassis.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 08:11 PM   #343
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

2 Questions:

1) I have a Futaba 3PM 2.4ghz Spektrum radio and it comes with a Futaba 603FF receiver...what's the difference between the Futaba FAST 603FF receiver that comes with the Spektrum 3PM, vs the 603FS receiver? They look the same and would like to know if one is faster than the other? Will my 603FF perform just as fast as the FS version?

2) Is the Futaba 3PM F.A.S.T. radio with R603FF receiver, just as Fast and reliable as a 3PK Super with FAST module and R603FS receiver? I want to race with the 3PM FAST radio and 603FF Fast receiver and hope to have equipment that's just as fast as the drivers running their 3PKS w/ FAST module and 603FS receivers...will my equipment be on par with them? Or will the 3PKS be slightly faster due to the 3PKS having a faster processor than the 3PM 2.4ghz processor, if that has anything to do with it?
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 07:29 AM   #344
Tech Elite
 
Rick Vessell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mars
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

The only difference between the FF and FS rx's is the antennas. The FF has only the external antenna, the FS has the external and internal antenna. No difference in speed, or performance.

You will be just as fast, radio wise, with the 3PM as the 3PK users so no need to worry there.

Socko
Rick Vessell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2007, 09:18 AM   #345
Tech Elite
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Just got this system and am wondering how you set the fails safe when using HRS?

Thanks,
CRASH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba 2.4Ghz module with two receivers, Futaba servoes dirtyrc R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 34 09-08-2008 09:04 AM
Futaba 3PK 2.4GHz NEW glock19er R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 04-07-2008 04:27 PM
Futaba 3PM 2.4ghz nrtv20 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 01-16-2008 12:03 PM
FUTABA 4PK 2.4ghz casye Malaysian R/C Racers 8 11-13-2007 12:42 PM
WTB: 2.4ghz kit for Futaba 3pk nocigar R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-04-2007 10:20 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:59 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net