R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-21-2006, 08:57 AM   #166
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 195
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

You have to use digital servos for HRS. Switch to PPM mode.
jon123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 10:40 AM   #167
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Talking

Sweet! It worked. I used a digital instead of the analog in HRS and very smooth and quiet.

Can I use Failsafe with the 2.4 system on my T3PK in HRS?

The main reason I went to PCM was to gain failsafe in the system and reduce weight as I was using those ala carte fail safe plugin jobs, that weighed a few grams but, were not totally reliable if you bumped the connections and cost $25 each.

The rain is letting up here in Michigan. Either I rake leaves or use the opportunity to run the brushless tunnel hull with the new 2.4 system. The leaves will still be there tomorrow.

Thank in advance for the help.
philips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2006, 11:36 AM   #168
Tech Regular
 
secretsg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

You have access to fail safe in HRS or PCM modes.
secretsg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 12:26 PM   #169
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

ran the system yesterday.. no signs of glitching what so ever. did not notice any loss of speed.

the only thing I found myself doing was trying to raise the antenna up on my way to the drivers stand.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2006, 07:32 PM   #170
Tech Addict
 
ATOMIC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 585
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Just thought I would let everbody know that I ran the system all week at the Paris Memorial race . The system worked perfect all week . Not one issue ever. It ran flauless . I ended up with the TQ and Win in 200mm.
ATOMIC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 08:33 AM   #171
Tech Elite
 
Rick Vessell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mars
Posts: 2,302
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Just a reminder for everyone. You cannot use PCM with the 2.4 system. You have PPM and HRS to choose from. Both are protected since the system will act like a standard F/S if it loses signal.

Congrats on the win Atomic!
Rick Vessell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 10:06 AM   #172
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 87
Default

I'm having a hard time pulling the trigger (no pun intended) on an upgrade from my 3PJ-S, to a 3PK-S. Disregarding the obvious benefits of the 2.4 Ghz system, will I really notice much from the HRS by itself (especially compared to a std spektrum pro)? I'll be updating both my 12th scale & T2 (both w/ GTX & fast digital servos already).

Thanks, Denney
Denney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 10:16 AM   #173
Tech Elite
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,020
Trader Rating: 77 (100%+)
Default

i got the futaba 2.4ghz last week and used it this weekend. big difference. the spektrum is slow response it made my car feel like i had standard servos in it. i cannot stand the spektrum set-up nothing but slow response and glitches where i'm from. the futaba set-up never misses a beat it's crisp response4 and super fast. easy to set-up and bind the tx and rx together, clean system works glitch free and well worth it. plus the 3pk is the best transmitter on the market in my opinion i dont have the super but i have had mine since 2004 and have never been happier. the 3pk is alot easier to navigate through menu's than the 3pj. night and day difference.
__________________
Maclan Racing Products-Bellgate Distributions-PR Racing- Prospeed
jeff jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 02:27 PM   #174
Tech Master
 
bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,504
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Can anyone cofirm whether this unit will work with the 3PJ?

As the spektrum TX module fits in both the 3pK and 3PJ I'm assuming that the module is the same dimensions, meaning this unit should work in both too?
__________________
Jason W
FIR#2 - "You can't buy this much talent"
Durango Dex410 - Schumacher Cougar SV - Top Photon
bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 02:29 AM   #175
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,140
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Finally ran the system tonight in my sedan (foam tires on carpet). Wow, what a difference. The disconnected feeling I had completely disappeared, and was replaced entirely by a very direct, smooth feel. It took me a while to get used to the timing, but once I had, it was a whole different world. I really hate to be a naysayer when it comes to Spektrum, because I think it's changed the R/C world, but this Futaba system is clearly superior. I'm extremely satisfied with with it.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 09:53 AM   #176
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

For those of you who wishes to order from www.gshobby.com for this Futaba 2.4GHz system because of their good price please do so as I have just received my order from them, so they are a good online shop to buy from.
__________________
Muchmore l AHRP l Xenon l Futaba
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 09:56 AM   #177
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,880
Default

so this system, regardless of the mode it's in, will not use analog servo's?

wish someone could measure the response time between this and analog hrs and spektrum pro...
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2006, 06:13 PM   #178
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Elyria, Oh
Posts: 914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Just finished installing my new system in my tc and 1/12th scale cars. Will I need to use a receiver pack on for four cell stock?
thanks
chuck
mackin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 03:53 AM   #179
Tech Apprentice
 
sakaguchinet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Gruendau, Germany
Posts: 84
Send a message via ICQ to sakaguchinet Send a message via AIM to sakaguchinet Send a message via Skype™ to sakaguchinet
Default

Hallo,

here in Germany the Futaba 2.4GHz System is still available (price for HF-Module & Reciever is around 300 USD).

But in Japan this system will also come. I have seen it on the pictures of the Radicon Show (in Japan). So 2.4GHz will be allowed in Japan soon (or is it still allowed?).
__________________
Best Regards,
Dai
http://www.rc-square.de (German and English manufacturers site)
http://www.sakaguchinetshop.com (Tamiya TRF related stuff)
sakaguchinet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2006, 09:16 AM   #180
Tech Initiate
 
MackanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bender
Can anyone cofirm whether this unit will work with the 3PJ?

As the spektrum TX module fits in both the 3pK and 3PJ I'm assuming that the module is the same dimensions, meaning this unit should work in both too?
I tested it this weekend. I didnt drive just connected a servo to the reciver and put the module in my 3PJ and it did work.
MackanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba 2.4Ghz module with two receivers, Futaba servoes dirtyrc R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 34 09-08-2008 09:04 AM
Futaba 3PK 2.4GHz NEW glock19er R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 04-07-2008 04:27 PM
Futaba 3PM 2.4ghz nrtv20 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 01-16-2008 12:03 PM
FUTABA 4PK 2.4ghz casye Malaysian R/C Racers 8 11-13-2007 12:42 PM
WTB: 2.4ghz kit for Futaba 3pk nocigar R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-04-2007 10:20 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:41 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net