R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-27-2006, 06:08 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
semore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 399
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Questions on power cap for Rx/servo

Hey all- I have a question reguarding the power cap. Does it really matter what size of cap you use? I have a power cap fromm my old cyclone and want to use it with my spektrum Rx and digital steering servo. The Rx stops because of the built in fail safe. I have already soldered the power cap to a conector soo I could plug in the battery input. Do you think this would OK I dont want to smokey my Rx oor servo.
Thanks Semore
semore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2006, 06:13 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Talking

just go buy one from spektrum, they plug striaght into your receiver $7
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2006, 06:25 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
semore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 399
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I will but want to race tomoro with my son and non of the LHS have them and iit would have to ordered.
semore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2006, 06:27 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

ok. the spektrum cap is a 10v 4700uF Cap. any cap with spec of higher than 5.5v will do.

just connect a receiver plug to it and plug it to your AUX or Batt Channel. If no spare channel you need a splitter.
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2006, 06:39 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
semore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Posts: 399
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Thanks thats what I was looking for.
semore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2006, 09:34 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
BATT_MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XingXing
ok. the spektrum cap is a 10v 4700uF Cap. any cap with spec of higher than 5.5v will do.

just connect a receiver plug to it and plug it to your AUX or Batt Channel. If no spare channel you need a splitter.
You want to make sure that you use a LOW IMPEDANCE electrolytic capacitor. Not all capacitors have the same properties, and the impedance is very important for propper operation. You can go up to 8200uf without having any problems.
Most of the capacitors sold at places like Radio Shack are of the normal type. You need something like a PANASONIC FC SERIES.

Most capacitors are rated at 85'C and you will do better with a 105'C cap. THE FC SERIES is the right capacitor for thos application. Other companies make LOW IMPEDANCE caps, but the easiest to get is the PAN FC.

If you need a source for this capacitors you can PM me.

BTW, WATCH THE POLARITY!

Hope this will help you.
BATT_MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2006, 06:20 AM   #7
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

The Cyclone caps are LOW ESR(as BATT_MAN suggest), so yes, they will work fine.
That is what I used on mine.
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 01:32 AM   #8
Tech Regular
 
BATT_MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 409
Default

I did not read your question carefully.

Tres is correct, the CYCLONE caps are the right type.
As a fact, they are either the PANASONIC that I suggested or an alternate brand.
BATT_MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
servo questions rgrg2 Radio and Electronics 3 08-10-2008 05:22 AM
Power caps concern and questions akuhon Electric On-Road 10 02-16-2007 12:13 AM
Power supply problem and questions ken39 Singapore R/C Racers 6 03-08-2006 02:56 AM
Power Supply questions Fred Perkins Chat Lounge 2 05-05-2004 01:22 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:45 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net