R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-03-2006, 07:57 AM   #31
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bikerbob
Ok, got it working!!

The 10 ohm 10watt was not enough.. a 30 OHM 10 Watt was good.

Now I have just one last problem. If I hook it up to a charger that changes power quickly then it shuts off. I know this is some kind of protection built into the ps, is there a work around it??

I dont have the grey power good hooked up btw.. did not need it.

James
That's a normal thing with computer power supplies, because they have an overload protection. It should be fine if the charger is plugged in first, then you switch on the power supply. There are ways around it, but I'm still working on a "safer" way to do it. My own power supply can handle a spike of about 5A.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 08:24 AM   #32
Tech Regular
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Bikerbob Send a message via MSN to Bikerbob Send a message via Yahoo to Bikerbob
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XrayFK
That's a normal thing with computer power supplies, because they have an overload protection. It should be fine if the charger is plugged in first, then you switch on the power supply. There are ways around it, but I'm still working on a "safer" way to do it. My own power supply can handle a spike of about 5A.

yeah.. that sounds about right.. was hoping a way around it. One of the chargers I am using is a Duratrax Intellipeak Digital.. and if I set the charge at 6.5 amp, it trips it right away. If I start it low, and manually turn it up.. no problem.

I converted an old AT supply (10amp on 12v) it has not spike protection. Was hoping to use the one (20amp on 12v) to power everything, but I guess not.. Oh well.

James
Bikerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 09:11 AM   #33
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have two PSU's made up, and neither trips if I connect/disconnect aything, only time I hade a shut down is when I accidentaly shorted the +12v to ground.
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Duratrax ICE Charger, Great Planes Triton Charger, & MRC Power Supply wrxnfx R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 08-20-2008 11:33 AM
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-25-2008 12:52 AM
Novak Millenium Pro charger ans N- Power power supply RobertF R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 11-27-2005 08:59 PM
Converting Computer Power Supply. Who got it to work? Who didnt? Calvin Ng Electric On-Road 47 02-20-2005 08:17 PM
Converting Computer Power Supply. Resistors Q's Calvin Ng Electric On-Road 12 02-19-2005 08:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:59 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net