Come on Tamiya...

Show us already

and here take my damn money
aracefan likes this.
Old 06-29-2017, 02:00 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Originally Posted by OSherman
I'm going to guess a layout similar to current 4WD OffRoad buggies. Centralized Spur w/ motor mounted off front of the mount. Electronics in the rear. Possibly some new-fangled CenterGearbox to push motor (as well as Battery) as far to the center as possible. For grins, let's speculate a gearbox similar to that on the VBC Fwd car. (Which takes a page from the Tamiya M0# series of 'mini' cars but is more compact).. just because Tamiya likes to try things different..
Is it possible that the new tb will have an offset shaft and set of gear boxes. The old TA had an offset shaft. I can't imagine that it would be an improvement, but I'm not an engineer. The Christmas Eve tease looks like everything is offset.

Still waiting with baited breath.
Old 06-29-2017, 02:20 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

off-set shaft would work for either the front or the rear gearbox, but not both.. unless one (bot not both) of those gearboxes has an additional idler (oldschool Tamiya) to give the proper axle rotation at the wheels. assuming they would use current crown gear design.

that's the beauty of a central shaft, just flip the diff gear to the other side in the gearbox, no idler needed.
Old 06-29-2017, 04:34 PM
OVA
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)

off-set shaft would work for either the front or the rear gearbox, but not both.. unless one (bot not both) of those gearboxes has an additional idler (oldschool Tamiya) to give the proper axle rotation at the wheels. assuming they would use current crown gear design.

that's the beauty of a central shaft, just flip the diff gear to the other side in the gearbox, no idler needed.
Old 06-29-2017, 05:15 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)