R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-19-2006, 08:17 AM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Hudy Lathe Questions

I'm going to get a Hudy lathe, but I haven't quite decided on which one or where I'm going to get it from.

1. I'm leaning toward the Hudy Advanced Comm Lathe with V-blocks, but I wanted to ask here first about the Hudy Tech Comm Lathe. Is there a big difference in cut-quality between the two? Hudy claims that the Tech eliminates vibration, but they also say that the Advanced is already vibration-free. How pronounced is the difference between the two?

2. This is my first lathe, so I'll be starting off with carbide bits. Can anyone give me the specs for the Hudy bits? For instance, I know Integy uses AL4 1/4" C-2 bits. I'm sure the Hudy would be 1/4" C-2 as well, but I wasn't sure about the bit's orientation. I know I could ask Hudy, but since I was already here asking you fine gentlemen questions, I thought I'd take a shot.

3. Where can I get Hudy products? I know Stormer has them, but they're out of stock on the Advanced. RCAmerica/Hudy.net has them in stock, but they're selling them at the "book" price rather than "street".

Thanks in advance,
Jason B
Jason B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 08:48 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John Fontaine
Default

Both lathes will cut great. It really depends on your budget. I own the tech lathe as it offeres greater flexibility in adjustment of the tooling guides and also has a stoping tool so you will not hit the windings.

You can get these lathes from a variety of vendors, www.speedtechrc.com, www.ashfordhobby.com, www.kthobbies.com, www.horshamrcracing.com come to mind but I'm sure they're others.

As for bits - I use carbide as they cut great and are cheap. You can use an 1/4"x1/4" AL4 C2 or 1/4"x1/4" AL4 C6 bits. Easy to order from www.mcmaster.com pg 2366.

John
__________________
Xray and Serpent....very dusty!
John Fontaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 09:12 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Thanks, John... exactly what I needed! I did notice that the Advanced also has the adjustable back-stop. This is one of the primary reasons I wanted a Hudy... I don't trust my jittery hands to keep the bit off the tabs.
Jason B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 09:18 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

I have the advanced lathe and it cuts perfect everytime.
I also added this to it though to help keep the comm perfectly shimmed...
http://www.hudy.net/eshop/products/p...e&kategoria=74
It makes the Advanced truely the best I have ever seen...
I use a Diamond bit that I got off ebay...LOL...I told the guy which lathe I use and that it cuts right to left and the bit has cut flawlessly since...
Hope that helps,
-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 09:21 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Anthony.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

The $100 Cobra has a backstop. I've used the Hudy Tech lathe and honestly can't see a difference for twice the money over the Cobra.
Anthony.L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 01:54 PM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 901
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I LOVE McMaster... just replenished a supply of SS screws AND bought 3 (THREE) carbide bits for my new Hudy... all for under $20 (which includes S&H).
Jason B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 03:32 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Newport Coast, CA
Posts: 112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Shookie
I have the advanced lathe and it cuts perfect everytime.
I also added this to it though to help keep the comm perfectly shimmed...
http://www.hudy.net/eshop/products/p...e&kategoria=74
It makes the Advanced truely the best I have ever seen...
I use a Diamond bit that I got off ebay...LOL...I told the guy which lathe I use and that it cuts right to left and the bit has cut flawlessly since...
Hope that helps,
-Shookie <><
I have the same set-up and it works great. Adjustable axial support is really nice if you run different types of motors.

I have bearings instead of V-block. It seems that people with V-blocks swear by them, but I have had zero maintenance issues with the Hudy bearing set-up, and it is SMOOTH.
grazianos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 05:57 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
XMSRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 1,013
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to XMSRacing Send a message via Yahoo to XMSRacing
Default

I just picked up a Hudy Advanced Lathe at an awesome price with the diamond bit. I haven't cut with it yet, but I ran up to my LHS with it and had them run it quick... all I have to say is wow!

Question for those with the axial support... is that really necessary if you only run pretty much one kind of motor? just curious!
XMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 06:07 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XMSRacing
I just picked up a Hudy Advanced Lathe at an awesome price with the diamond bit. I haven't cut with it yet, but I ran up to my LHS with it and had them run it quick... all I have to say is wow!

Question for those with the axial support... is that really necessary if you only run pretty much one kind of motor? just curious!
Nope not a nessesity...but it makes it real nice if someone else needs a cut...
I run 19t and stock and i use the adjustable axial every time I cut....Love it...
-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 06:45 PM   #10
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XMSRacing
Question for those with the axial support... is that really necessary if you only run pretty much one kind of motor? just curious!
What I do is use a spare pinion gear and a few teflon washer on the armature to hold it in place. Works pretty good
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2006, 06:49 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
XMSRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 1,013
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to XMSRacing Send a message via Yahoo to XMSRacing
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Shookie
Nope not a nessesity...but it makes it real nice if someone else needs a cut...
I run 19t and stock and i use the adjustable axial every time I cut....Love it...
-Shookie <><

The Axial just stops it from going side to side??? <-{==}-> ???
XMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 09:18 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XMSRacing
The Axial just stops it from going side to side??? <-{==}-> ???
WORD...........
It eliminates any possible vibrations...
-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 11:21 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
XMSRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 1,013
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to XMSRacing Send a message via Yahoo to XMSRacing
Default

I guess the fantom stock motors were made for this lathe then! When I mounted it up, it had NO play. Took my time doing it for my first time... my comm looks like glass!! I can't see where this axial support would help me?? I couldn't believe the shaping of the comm with no cutting.. I've never done it myself so I hadn't a clue. I dont think I'll ever run a motor right out of the package again!
XMSRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 11:51 AM   #14
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 1,859
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to brians11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony.L
The $100 Cobra has a backstop. I've used the Hudy Tech lathe and honestly can't see a difference for twice the money over the Cobra.
I've used both as well, but the fact that the Hudy blocks are keyed to the tool block to ensure straight cuts is what makes this better than the Cobra in my opinion. No cut, measure, adjust... just bolt it on and go...
__________________
Team Tekin | Superiorhobbies.com
brians11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 10:38 PM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
calstarjig90j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Shookie
WORD...........
It eliminates any possible vibrations...
-Shookie <><
Exactly. Easy to use and takes out a lot of guesswork on how many shims to put on each side of the armature when you cut different arms. I just put one on each side to prevent wear on the sides of the stands. Adjust the support with the knob and cut away. Speedy and efficient I say.

Anyways only thing I can say that sucks is that the adjustable fixture is an option to buy. Not sure if hudy sells their lathes with the adjustable fixtures as standards. This means the lathe setup itself can go for 350.00 if you bought it brand new in a store. (hudy lathe, hudy diamond bit, hudy adjustable fixture)
Attached Thumbnails
Hudy Lathe Questions-dsc07782.jpg  
calstarjig90j is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FOR SALE: HUDY COMM LATHE WITH HUDY DIAMOND BIT FUJIMO R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 04-01-2007 08:54 AM
WTB: Hudy Lathe Parts or Cheap Hudy Lathe Zaner24 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 09-20-2006 09:09 PM
Hudy Tire Truer / Hudy Lathe / Hudy Diamond Bits koabich R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 05-04-2006 06:39 PM
hudy advance comm lathe with hudy diamond bit flysti Australia For Sale/Trade 2 03-28-2006 05:41 AM
hudy comm lathe w/ genuine hudy diamond bit calstarjig90j R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 11-27-2005 05:17 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:15 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net