Search
Like Tree10Likes

USGT Motor Questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2017, 07:16 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default USGT Motor Questions

I have done some asking around my local track and read some threads here but am still feeling confused so I am hoping someone can help lay this out in laymans terms for me. Just some quick background VTA was the first class I started racing and 17.5, I just used the motors the hobby shop said were the best and didn't do much research so this is my first attempt at researching and purchasing a motor.

1. It seems like the fastest guys are using short stack motors but I don't really understand what these are, what makes them better/worse and in USGT do they really offer an advantage, for example the Trinity 24KO vs the 24k short stack

2. Gearing seems to be really important, what works best in general for either a TC6.2 or a TC7.1

3. I have looked at Reedy, Tekin and Trinity (trinity the hardest) are their other brands I should consider for a 21.5 motor

And finally

4. While researching the Reedy motors I found that the fast guys using them were using the Reedy Sonic 540-M3 Motor SS 21.5 1S Spec, instead of the regular Reedy Sonic 540-M3 Motor 21.5 Spec. There seems to be a claim that using the 1S motor can actually be advantageous in certian conditions and offer more power then the regular motor in 2S touring cars. I do not understand this at all, and does it just apply to their motors or would the same claim apply to any other manufacturer.
Old 04-05-2017, 10:51 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)

None of the guys I race with for the most part don't use short stacks or Reedy motors. I see Team Scream, Fantom, and Team Powers. I also see a few Trinity's but not as often as I see the other three motors mentioned above.
If you buy any of those motors the fast guys will still be fast but you will scare the heck out of them coming out of corners and down the straight.
godzukihop likes this.