Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Warning Be Ware of The New High Power 4200mAH packs >

Warning Be Ware of The New High Power 4200mAH packs

Warning Be Ware of The New High Power 4200mAH packs

Closed Thread

Old 01-17-2006, 04:12 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Default Warning Be Ware of The New High Power 4200mAH packs

Don't use it without changing your pinion to lighten the load. Or better yet change to a brushless motor.

I just bought two packs and within 2 minutes of use I had smoke comming out of my engine.

If your going to try these new batteries be warned they push more volts than the other packs.

Hopefully this saves someone else the trouble I've had.

Jason
envirojay is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:22 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 373
Default

Thanks for your advice, and SHUT UP.
caveman is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:23 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (47)
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,782
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

c
andrewdoherty is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:23 AM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: the beach australia
Posts: 707
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

not the batts!!!! i just read your other post & it seems to explain alot!
flysti is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:33 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,049
Default

Engines are powered by fuel, motors are powered by electrical current!
John Warner is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:49 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Dude it's time you understand that it's not the very slight voltage difference between your 3600 and your 4200 that will smoke your motor. There hardly will be more than 0.4V more on the overall pack and that will never kill a motor. Hell you could run it with 7 cells and not smoke it if properly maintained.

You still haven't replied to the following questions :

- how long since you skimmed and changed the brushes in your motor ?

- how is it geared ?

- and HOW THE HELL can you get 30 minutes of runtime with 3600 ?
TRF415boy is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 05:06 AM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
 
Frank McKinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: A Yank in England
Posts: 755
Default

Here's your sign...
Frank McKinney is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 05:17 AM
  #8  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Default This is getting retrarted

Here is what's happened. This is to the guy you can't beleive a battery could mess u up.

I have an HPI pro 4
been using a 19 turn kwanda motor.
Have used 3600mAH packs for about 3 months with no problems
usually get about 30mins use out of them

I just got some new packs 4200mAH
first time out caused the engine wires to melt

I thought maybe the wires were too close together so I took out the motor cleaned it all replaced the brushes and tried again.

2 mins into it smoke from the engine and then it all shut down.

Its the batteries already so what da lllllll

more voltage or a little or alot I don't know but its messed up my motor
envirojay is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 05:29 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
 
ooliganRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Under that rock you just kicked over!!!!
Posts: 1,040
Default

sounds like you blew the motor upfirst time you smelt it.

once a motor melts its bin fodder, no point in even trying to salvage it.

what spur and pinion where you using, was it on a race track in race/practice conditions...or on a street/carpark having fun.

Thing is the 3600's you had must have been on there way out for you to replace them.

New batteries say the 4200's are better, and if used properly willlast as long as ya want.

My guess is that the motor wasnt fit and probably onits last legs.

how often do you skim the comm on a lathe? re brush it? check stacks for damage?

Are you sure that a clip/stone or some other object wasnt caught in the motor?

Is the drive train as free as it can be?

So many variables to eliminate before you go blasting the batteries :P
ooliganRC is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 05:52 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
 
TRF415boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,857
Default

Here's one for you : instead of saying that the packs have destroyed your motor, why don't you go "don't use your motor because it will wear out and eventually die !" ?

Obviously your motor was at the end of its life and was going to blow up anyway. Why don't you just listen to the advice of the dozens of experienced racers who tells you your packs are not at fault ?

Put it this way, if I thought your packs were that powerful so as to blow your motor after 2 minutes, I'd buy it off you straightaway.
TRF415boy is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 06:01 AM
  #11  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 492
Default

are you saying you get 30 minutes of run time with a 3600 in one run ??
baih is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 08:58 AM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Two threads and this guy is still going on...
This is why stupid people shouldn't breed, lol.
XrayFK is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 09:13 AM
  #13  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Default How many morons comment on things they've never used

If you wanna help then help If not shut up. Go out buy the battery and use it in your car then talk. Otherwise your just blowing hot air.
envirojay is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 09:20 AM
  #14  
Tech Regular
 
jrabbito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 265
Default

I have a few questions. Maybe we can help you out and at the same time educate people on the 4200 cells.

Could you post pictures of the damaged car/ Including motor, batteries/wires and esc?

Also what connection were you using? I know that some RTR connectors (tamiya style plugs) cannot handle the output of higher capacity cells. I have personally seen them short out causing similar problems to what you described.


All the best,

John
jrabbito is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 09:25 AM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (75)
 
imprsme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Va.
Posts: 3,876
Trader Rating: 75 (99%+)
Default

Ok so if you think more (slightly) voltage smoked your motor. Then YOU explain this....

10 yrs ago we ran 7 cell packs and NEVER smoked motors in 2 mins as you say the 4200's did yours. If we had no one could have afforded to replace motors half way thru EVERY qual and EVERY MAIN!

Ok 6 cell packs = 7.2volts
7 cell packs = 8.4 volts

So with that said, YOU think that the extra .02-.03 volts you gain from the 3600's to the 4200's smoked your motor????

Also a few years ago we were running 3000's and if you saw a 1.18v at 30 amp pack you had something. So how can I go get that same GREEN MACHINE motor from 4 yrs ago and run it with my 3800's which have 1.21v at 35amp discharge and make it run for another 2 yrs.....


I have read (I don't know why) all the post on BOTH threads.... You have not once answered the questions of:

How often you cut the motor and replaced brushes after running FOR 30MINS at a time for almost 6months as you stated.

If the battery companies thought that the 4200's were going to "SMOKE" motors every 2 mins.......

DO YOU REALLY THINK THEY WOULD SELL THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

DO YOU THINK THEY SAW THIS WHILE TESTING THEM and SAID SCREW IT,THEY WILL BUY 4 MOTORS EVERY WEEK NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!
imprsme is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service