Search
Like Tree23Likes

Touring car maintenance

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2021, 12:50 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Touring car maintenance

I’m pretty new to touring car and don’t have the most in depth maintenance records.

I’d love to hear tips / to-dos.
or even full blown maintenance routines and how often!

Hopefully we all can get inspiration and learn a few things.
Old 06-29-2021, 07:08 AM
Tech Apprentice

Testing

Last edited by Noobi_Kenubi; 06-29-2021 at 07:36 AM.
Old 06-29-2021, 07:25 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

I mostly just replace bearings or worn out parts occasionally, I'm too lazy to do much more than that. I can't remember the last time I checked my shock or diff oil.
Old 06-29-2021, 07:37 AM
Tech Apprentice

Since I have nothing much to do during these lockdowns heres my 2 cents:

After a day of trackday
  1. Air dust the whole car to remove grimes and dust
  2. Check battery for any cracks, if it does, replace battery, remove battery for charge/discharge into storage volt
  3. Check leaks on shocks and differentials, if it does, rebuild
  4. Check on tire sidewalls for any tearing, if it does, apply glues
  5. Check bodyshells, if it tears, maybe change it,
  6. Check your suspension arms for any cracks or tears, if it distort the geometry of the arm, replace it
  7. Check your screws, replace the missing ones and tighten the lose ones
  8. Check your chassis for any tweaks, if it does, rescrew the top decks while on flat surface, with straight pole pressing on front and rear suspension holder/bulkheads while retightening the top deck screws
  9. Check your electronics, wiring connections, resolder the detached ones
  10. Check wheel hub bearings, clean and reoil them
  11. Store your cars without tire attached to them to prevent tire surface distortion due to prolonged weight force during the storage, it also help reducing spring compressions during storage