R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2006, 04:37 PM   #1
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: please try not to look at my avatar to long may cause u know what
Posts: 464
Default turning pc power supply into a rc power supply

ok since this is a eletric on road im sure some of u have don this so can sombody please tell me how to do this.turning pc power supply into a rc power supply i will be running my charger at 5 amps and a coupple small lights and a cooling fan for my car.help is very apreacated
andy_666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2006, 04:49 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
hurley081182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 735
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to hurley081182 Send a message via Yahoo to hurley081182
Default

yes i would like to know also
__________________
Old School Stampede=FUN
hurley081182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2006, 04:52 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 65
Default

here is a link to doing this. It works really good.
how to make a pc power supply into a rc power supply
jasong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 08:48 AM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: I don't know
Posts: 201
Default

This one works well all so. http://web2.murraystate.edu/andy.bat...owerSupply.htm
rockdog200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 08:55 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
ofna's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 258
Default

Just curious.I have two of these.Wonder if they can charge up directly using clips on a 12v Dry cell bike Lead acid batt?
ofna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 09:43 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 111
Default

can these things push out MORE than 5 amps like 10-15 ?
serpentrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 10:37 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 179
Default

LOL, my PSU outputs 26 amps @ 12.01V
Have had 4 chargers @ 6amps (6 cell) running of it, no problems.

Just don't think the cheap ones will, they will deliver maybe 16A or so.
vassago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 10:50 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vassago
LOL, my PSU outputs 26 amps @ 12.01V
Have had 4 chargers @ 6amps (6 cell) running of it, no problems.

Just don't think the cheap ones will, they will deliver maybe 16A or so.
THANKS AND HOW DO YOU WIRE THIS THING UP DO YOU HAVE A LINK
serpentrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 12:52 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,504
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

There is a label on most (if not all) power supplies that tells you the maximum amps for each voltage (3.3, 5.0, 12v).

Most 400-500w PSU usually have a rating of 17 amps or more on the 12v line - which is enough to run 2 chargers without problems.

Just a few notes for those intending to build one:

Firstly, there are several links around to show you how to build one, with the main difference being whether or not to use a load device (resistor or light globe) on the 5v line.

Generally, the 5v line WILL need some load for the PSU to provide enough voltage on the 12v line - how much load really depends upon the quality and wattage of the PSU you have. As an example, I've seen instructions call for the use of a 10ohm resistor, yet my unit runs a 2ohm resistor to provide the necessary load. Some PSU's do not require ANY resistors to work correctly - so there is no real "right way" to do it.

Finally, remember that these PSU's are really not designed for us to open them up and start mucking around inside - so be CAREFUL!

It is possible to make one work properly without opening the case (though it looks untidy) - but if you are going to wire everything up internally then make sure the PSU has been unplugged for a long time - as there as several large capacitors inside that are still capable of giving you a nasty shock.

It's best to completely finish the unit before switching on for the first time.

EDIT:
I have seen a lot of threads on the net turn into nasty arguments over the safety issues with building these PSU's so do not attempt this if you are not 100% sure of what you're doing.
__________________
Jason W
FIR#2 - "You can't buy this much talent"
Durango Dex410 - Schumacher Cougar SV - Top Photon
bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 04:26 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vassago
LOL, my PSU outputs 26 amps @ 12.01V
Have had 4 chargers @ 6amps (6 cell) running of it, no problems.

Just don't think the cheap ones will, they will deliver maybe 16A or so.

hi. just a question? the inside of the PS the wires that come from the PS board to the jacks are only 20Guage wire. I read 20AWG wire should only be rated to around 8amps.

Is that safe to be pulling 20+ amps thru the PS?
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 04:57 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,504
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XingXing
hi. just a question? the inside of the PS the wires that come from the PS board to the jacks are only 20Guage wire. I read 20AWG wire should only be rated to around 8amps.

Is that safe to be pulling 20+ amps thru the PS?
Because there are so many of the yellow (+12v), red (+5v), and black (common) wires, you can solder 2 or 3 together to the output jacks and then you'll have no problems
__________________
Jason W
FIR#2 - "You can't buy this much talent"
Durango Dex410 - Schumacher Cougar SV - Top Photon
bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 08:16 PM   #12
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 25
Default

SO to charge the dry cell battery(motorcycle battery),you still need a charger to connect to the PSU?
traxxas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 08:40 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

u cant charge a dry cell with a PS.

u can only charge at a max rate of 30% of the dry cells capacity.

e.g a 7A/hour drycell you can at most put in 2.1amps. it says it on the battery "max initial current 2.1Amp",

then as the gell cell gets charged you have to decrese the amp proportionatly, so when the gell cell is nearly full, its charge rate is prob 0.5A.

Thats how my digital PB charger works.
XingXing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 08:57 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
quantum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 351
Default pc power supply

i have done this conversion and it works well, and the 5v tap is nice for powerin lathes etc. BUT what i noticed is that the power supply outputs about 12v max, sometimes it even dips to 11.99v
this can be a problem when charging transmitter packs as those can go up above 12 volts, so what ends up happening is, the charger can not give the pack more voltage than the power supply is giving so it stops the charge (false peaks). most purpose designed power supply's for this application output 13.8v, heck my friend's rivergate outputs 14.1v so i use his when charging my Tx pack.

just my .02

quantum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2006, 10:13 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,504
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quantum
i have done this conversion and it works well, and the 5v tap is nice for powerin lathes etc. BUT what i noticed is that the power supply outputs about 12v max, sometimes it even dips to 11.99v

This is where you need to experiment with the load resistor on the 5v line.

Simply put, the lower the ohms of this resistor, the higher the voltage on the 12v line.

As I mentioned, I am using a 2 ohm resistor on my 400w PSU - I get 12.3v under no-load, and 12.1v when using 2 chargers

Of course, you start to generate more heat in the resistor as you boost up the 12v line, so I recommend an additional 80mm computer fan to cool it, plus get the gold-encased heatsink resistor. (see picture)
Attached Thumbnails
turning pc power supply into a rc power supply-resistor.jpg  
__________________
Jason W
FIR#2 - "You can't buy this much talent"
Durango Dex410 - Schumacher Cougar SV - Top Photon
bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-25-2008 12:52 AM
RC BLOW OUT !!!! Ice chargers,novak discharger,power supply,power bridge,integy setup shrum1340 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-23-2007 05:37 AM
Novak N-Power power supply, original box, like new condition!! Scottrik R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 05-28-2007 05:04 PM
>>> TEAM NOVAK N-POWER POWER SUPPLY GREAT CONDITION $50 <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-06-2007 10:53 PM
SEC Power Supply vs. Hobbico Power Supply? F1Junkie Electric On-Road 1 06-05-2004 08:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:46 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net