Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
lipoly reciever pack for 12th scale? > lipoly reciever pack for 12th scale?

lipoly reciever pack for 12th scale?

Reply

Old 01-13-2006, 07:01 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
FrankW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: PDX
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default lipoly reciever pack for 12th scale?

I was wondering what peoples opinion of using a lipoly reciever pack for 12th scale. On hand I have a 2 cell Kokam 145 Mah pack that I could use. I also have an FMA Direct 5v voltage reducer. I'm thinking about plugging in the pack directly into my receiver without dropping the voltage. I know my Spektrum reciever could handle it, but I don't know if my Futaba S9650 servo could.

-Frank
FrankW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2006, 09:03 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
BigDogRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,955
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Frank, I can't remember right off hand, but if the 9650 isn't digital it will probably burn up. I really can't tell you who told me, but someone very knowlegable about this subject told me they have had no problems running a good quality digital servo wit the spektrum and with no voltage regulator.

If the 9650 is analog you could simply put a resistor inline from the battery to reduce voltage. You can do that in this situation b/c the only thing really drawing any current is the servo. I believe the one that comes with the FET KO servos is a 470 ohm, but I'm not absolutely sure about that.

FYI, I mentioned to Eric @FMA Direct the other day that he should offer a 6V version of their small 5V regulator and he told me it wouldn't be hard. In fact, I bet if a couple of you guys called www.fmadirect.com or emailed them, he would jump on that pretty quick. It's a very easy modification and requires hardly any retooling.

Another option many don't know about is the Novak regulator harness. It works great and includes a switch just like the little GTX switch. You can glue them side-by-side and they look great. If you are good at soldering you can shorten the wires to clean up the look on your car too. You can find it here- http://www.shopatron.com/index/135.0.56.440.0.0.0
BigDogRacing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2006, 10:28 AM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
FrankW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: PDX
Posts: 969
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The 9650 is a digital servo... that's why I asked, because I don't want to burn it up. However, from what it sounds like, it should be able to handle it.

I'll look into the novak unit too. Thank you.

-Frank
FrankW is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service