Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya Euro Truck Class >

Tamiya Euro Truck Class

Like Tree868Likes

Tamiya Euro Truck Class

Old 12-19-2019, 07:23 AM
  #1096  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
TheRulesLawyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 130
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The biggest downside of the cheapest computer radios is they do have slightly more latency than the cheap non-computer radios. We're talking pretty small numbers- less than 10ms average IIRC. The upside of having model memory and better tuning options far outweighs that IMO. As for 'supporting' the hobby. I don't know about that. AFAIK futaba etc have never made a donation to my local track. If I'm supporting anyone, its by buying the radio at my LHS instead of online.
Jeff H likes this.
TheRulesLawyer is offline  
Old 12-26-2019, 07:02 AM
  #1097  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 51
Default

My wife gifted me with a Euro Truck kit. I know that I'll need paint and a spare receiver. Any special tools or other items needed for assembly? What servo's and batteries are recommended?
Cornfield is offline  
Old 12-26-2019, 07:11 AM
  #1098  
Tech Master
iTrader: (39)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Prudenville Mi.
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

You need a bearing kit for sure.
hobbyten is offline  
Old 12-26-2019, 07:20 AM
  #1099  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (165)
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CANADA
Posts: 7,779
Trader Rating: 165 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cornfield
My wife gifted me with a Euro Truck kit. I know that I'll need paint and a spare receiver. Any special tools or other items needed for assembly? What servo's and batteries are recommended?
I recommend you purchase the proper Phillips screwdriver for all the self tapping screws that these kits use, along with a ball bearing set. Almost any servo is fine for steering and I recommend one with a 25T spline (Futaba) so that it fits the included servo saver.
SteveM is offline  
Old 12-26-2019, 07:20 AM
  #1100  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sydney
Posts: 715
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

JIS screw driver and propeller shaft upgrade. I trust and use Futaba digital servos.
zzztech is offline  
Old 12-26-2019, 07:27 AM
  #1101  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 2,313
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cornfield
My wife gifted me with a Euro Truck kit. I know that I'll need paint and a spare receiver. Any special tools or other items needed for assembly? What servo's and batteries are recommended?
Use a GOOD screwdriver. JIS can be nice. Put some grease on each screw before you put them in. Grease makes the screw go in easier, and you can feel when it bottoms out, so you don't accidentally strip it. You need a round pack battery. And.. I tend to go with a TS-D99X servo.
Nerobro is offline  
Old 12-26-2019, 09:11 AM
  #1102  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 121
Default

Originally Posted by Cornfield
My wife gifted me with a Euro Truck kit. I know that I'll need paint and a spare receiver. Any special tools or other items needed for assembly? What servo's and batteries are recommended?
Kit includes chassis, body, motor, and ESC.

You need everything else.
Tamiya makes a toolkit 74085 that has all you need for assembly.
Duratrax has a nice body scissors. Masking tape and paint is your preference.

You will need transmitter and receiver as you mentioned. Of course a servo (any will work).
Some like a nice upgraded servo saver.

As others have mentioned bearings are a big help and is really where you would stop with upgrades.

Lastly is a battery and charger. If you want to keep it simple you can get a tenergy NiMh charger/3300mah setup which will work nicely to be cheap as they use the tamiya style connections out of the box. You can go fancier but won't notice any difference in speed due to the box motor and gearing. (No hardcase though, only round style batteries.)

Seth
sethwas is offline  
Old 12-26-2019, 10:38 AM
  #1103  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 2,313
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

This thread is about the race class.. more than "it'll run". Many places have mandated a certian battery, but that abated with time. There are several brands of 2s LiPo battery in a round, hard, case. That's what you'll need to buy. You'll need a LiPo charger as well.

Bad servos, and racing, are not a good combination. Slow servos add a mush to the driving that's really hard to know if it's you, the car, or the servo, and I can't recomend using "just any servo". I also beleive you need to use the factory servo saver.

If you're going racing, you can't use an aluminum center shaft. The only upgrade allowed for racing is bearings.
sps3172 and mschumi101 like this.
Nerobro is offline  
Old 12-29-2019, 02:31 AM
  #1104  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
Default replacement truck tyres

has anyone experienced relacment tyres have lower grip than the kit tyres ?
tamyiatrukracer is offline  
Old 12-29-2019, 02:44 AM
  #1105  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 2,313
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Nope. I've seen the same traction from kit and not kit tires.
hobbyten likes this.
Nerobro is offline  
Old 12-29-2019, 03:08 AM
  #1106  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
Default

Originally Posted by Nerobro
Nope. I've seen the same traction from kit and not kit tires.
ashphalt or carpet?
tamyiatrukracer is offline  
Old 12-29-2019, 03:57 AM
  #1107  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 2,313
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tamyiatrukracer
ashphalt or carpet?
Both.
Nerobro is offline  
Old 12-29-2019, 05:36 AM
  #1108  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
Default

Originally Posted by Nerobro
Both.
ok good to know. Heres the thing , today we tested our trucks .we both had kit tyres, mine had more laps on them and our times were practically identical our PB were the same.
We both ran 6 packs and we both had a second set of replacement tyres (black rims ), mine had two runs my mate brand new .My truck was hooked up, same time as kit tyres
his was crapola ,so i ran his tyres thinking may be his truck had an issue. Well it was total shit ,understeer ,donuts. Adjusted my radio and ran a few clean laps i was 2 sec off pace WTF?
i changed back to my tyres put in my 6200 pack i use for 13.5 (i was using a 4400 shorty all day with weight added) radio back to orignal settings and went 3tenths faster than my personal best .
so whats going on with the tyres?
tamyiatrukracer is offline  
Old 12-29-2019, 05:53 AM
  #1109  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (165)
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CANADA
Posts: 7,779
Trader Rating: 165 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tamyiatrukracer
ok good to know. Heres the thing , today we tested our trucks .we both had kit tyres, mine had more laps on them and our times were practically identical our PB were the same.
We both ran 6 packs and we both had a second set of replacement tyres (black rims ), mine had two runs my mate brand new .My truck was hooked up, same time as kit tyres
his was crapola ,so i ran his tyres thinking may be his truck had an issue. Well it was total shit ,understeer ,donuts. Adjusted my radio and ran a few clean laps i was 2 sec off pace WTF?
i changed back to my tyres put in my 6200 pack i use for 13.5 (i was using a 4400 shorty all day with weight added) radio back to orignal settings and went 3tenths faster than my personal best .
so whats going on with the tyres?
I have had a similar experience with the HPI VTA tires. One set is hooked up, another set useless and like running Flintstone tires. It was likely down to different batches with slightly different rubber formulas at the time. Your Tamiya Euro truck tire issue might be similar.
Nerobro likes this.
SteveM is offline  
Old 12-29-2019, 06:21 AM
  #1110  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
Default

Originally Posted by SteveM
I have had a similar experience with the HPI VTA tires. One set is hooked up, another set useless and like running Flintstone tires. It was likely down to different batches with slightly different rubber formulas at the time. Your Tamiya Euro truck tire issue might be similar.
tamyiatrukracer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.